Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

EO.WebBrowser WebView.EvalScript timeout issue Options
Luke Coldiron
Posted: Tuesday, July 14, 2015 12:12:48 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 6/27/2015
Posts: 8
When I execute the following code in (EO.Total.2015.1.94.2)

0: string items = string.Empty;
1: EO.WebBrowser.DOM.Element dropDown = EO.WebBrowser.JSObject.CastTo<EO.WebBrowser.DOM.Element (webView.EvalScript("document.getElementById('birthPlace')", true));
2:
3: if (dropDown != null)
4: items = dropDown.innerHTML;

I get an error on line 4 something to the effect that the function timeout out. I do not see this error with (EO.Total.2015.1.76.2). Some behavior appears to have changed. The "birthPlace" element is a select html element with around 375 values.
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, July 14, 2015 1:29:01 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,229
Thanks for posting in the forum. We have confirmed that this is a bug on our end. We will fix it and post an update build as soon as possible.
Simmersion
Posted: Wednesday, July 15, 2015 2:32:45 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/18/2014
Posts: 4
Oh I just sent you guys an email about this. Good to see it's already been identified.
eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, July 15, 2015 5:57:46 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,229
Simmersion wrote:
Oh I just sent you guys an email about this. Good to see it's already been identified.


The problem you are running into may be different. We will try to post the new build tomorrow, you can try that and then we can go from there. Or if you wish, you can isolate the problem into a test project and send the test project to us, we will try to look into it before the update so that we maybe able to include the fix in the update. See here for more details on how to send test project to us:

http://www.essentialobjects.com/forum/test_project.aspx

Thanks!
Simmersion
Posted: Thursday, July 16, 2015 12:19:48 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/18/2014
Posts: 4
Ok, I've sent you a test project that works with 2014 dlls and doesn't work with the latest version.
eo_support
Posted: Monday, July 20, 2015 12:43:46 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,229
Hi,

We have posted a new build that should fix this problem for you. You can download the new build from our download page.

Thanks!
Simmersion
Posted: Monday, July 20, 2015 2:20:18 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/18/2014
Posts: 4
Yep, this seems to work. Thanks!
eo_support
Posted: Monday, July 20, 2015 3:10:06 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,229
Great. Thanks for confirming the fix!
Luke Coldiron
Posted: Tuesday, July 21, 2015 1:05:24 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 6/27/2015
Posts: 8
Works for me as well.
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, July 21, 2015 1:14:24 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,229
Luke Coldiron wrote:
Works for me as well.


Great. Please feel free to let us know if there is anything else.
Luke Coldiron
Posted: Tuesday, July 21, 2015 1:41:42 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 6/27/2015
Posts: 8
Unfortunately there is. My customers are reporting extremely poor performance ever since I upgraded from a 2014 version that my application was previously compiled with. I was hoping this fix would address that issue but it doesn't seem to have. I'm not exactly sure how to go about getting you the performance information because I don't know if it is site specific but the site the application is using is walled off and requires credentials that I can't give out.
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, July 21, 2015 2:13:07 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,229
Hi,

That's something that you will have to somehow show it to us. There are a million reasons that can cause performance degrading and it is not possible for us to address it without a clear test app/repro samples. Some of such performance issue might be what we can address and some others might not be possible. For example, if it is something related to Chrome engine (we switched from Chrome V33 to V41 in the new version), then your best option would be to work around the problem on your end since it is not practical for us to optimize the browser engine based on a single user case. As such please try to isolate the problem into a test project and we will then go from there. See here for more information about how to send the test project to us:

http://www.essentialobjects.com/forum/test_project.aspx

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.