Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

EO.WebBrowser.WebView Not Responding Options
mgsmith
Posted: Thursday, December 4, 2014 2:47:15 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/4/2014
Posts: 4
We recently have a problem where some clients are not responding or take up to an hour to show url. I don't get any events firing on the clients that hang. We are on Windows 7. Fiddler never shows the client calling the requested url on the clients that hang. I have logging showing the following events:

chromeControl.WebView.BeforeNavigate += WebView_BeforeNavigate;
chromeControl.WebView.BeforeRequestLoad += WebView_BeforeRequestLoad;
chromeControl.WebView.DownloadCompleted += WebView_DownloadCompleted;
chromeControl.WebView.LoadCompleted += WebView_LoadCompleted;
chromeControl.WebView.UrlChanged += WebView_UrlChanged;
chromeControl.WebView.IsLoadingChanged += WebView_IsLoadingChanged;
chromeControl.WebView.LaunchUrl += WebView_LaunchUrl;
chromeControl.WebView.ShouldForceDownload += WebView_ShouldForceDownload;
chromeControl.WebView.LoadFailed += WebView_LoadFailed;
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, December 4, 2014 3:29:46 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,196
Hi,

This might be a deadlock. Please check whether you are running the latest build first (the latest EO.WebBrowser.dll is 3.0.91). If you are, then you can try to isolate the problem into a test project and send the test project to us. See here for more information on how to send test project:

http://www.essentialobjects.com/forum/test_project.aspx

Thanks!

mgsmith
Posted: Friday, December 5, 2014 8:04:32 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/4/2014
Posts: 4
The problem is it is isolated two just a couple of machines and hard to duplicate. Is there anyway to isolate a deadlock? Is there anyway to change a timeout so it will at least create an error instead of just hanging?
eo_support
Posted: Friday, December 5, 2014 9:56:59 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,196
No. We do not know for sure if it is a deadlock, even if it was a deadlock, we do not know how it gets into that state (if we knew we would have fixed it). That's why we need a sample project to see what's going on first.

Thanks!
mgsmith
Posted: Friday, December 5, 2014 11:32:57 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/4/2014
Posts: 4
We figured out what it was. Cylance Malware detection was blocking it.
eo_support
Posted: Friday, December 5, 2014 11:38:18 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,196
Ah that makes sense. Thanks for the update.
mgsmith
Posted: Friday, December 5, 2014 11:50:21 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/4/2014
Posts: 4
Just curious, when something like this is happening, is there anyway to tell it to timeout or something. What is the best way to handle something blocking like that?
eo_support
Posted: Friday, December 5, 2014 6:39:28 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,196
There isn't really standard procedure for this kind of issues. When a third party software blocks the traffic, you will have to use them to unblock it --- because if there are other way to around them then they are not doing what they suppose to do. So pretty much the only way is to find out who blocked it.

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.