Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

WebView.url is empty Options
WeeSwe
Posted: Tuesday, June 3, 2014 10:26:20 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 1/20/2014
Posts: 20
Hi

Hopefully I'm just daft... I have a popup with its own webcontrol/webview. It works fine but I get nothing in Webview1.url in FormLoad or webview events - it's blank.
Changed name of both webcontrol and webview name if there is some challenges having multiple controls in one VS project.

I want to catch this early as in some cases I would prefer to send it off to IE...
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, June 3, 2014 2:48:57 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,196
Hi,

Can you try to isolate the problem into a small piece of test code so that we can run it here to see what you meant?

Thanks!
WeeSwe
Posted: Tuesday, June 3, 2014 4:18:40 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 1/20/2014
Posts: 20
The scenario is I catch a NewWindow in the mainForm and pass the automatically created WebView on to the webcontrol in the popForm. Can this be the reason? I need to query THAT WebView. The WebView1 attached to WebControl1 in popForm isn't active?
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, June 3, 2014 5:29:57 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,196
Hi,

You can get the new WebView's Url in the NewWindow event argument's TargetUrl property:

http://www.essentialobjects.com/doc/6/eo.webbrowser.newwindoweventargs.targeturl.aspx

The new window's Url won't be updated until it starts loading the Url, which usually happens after Form_Load event.

Thanks!
WeeSwe
Posted: Wednesday, June 4, 2014 3:32:37 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 1/20/2014
Posts: 20
Yes, I know this and it works fine so far BUT - in the 2nd form with my 2nd webview, when the app changes URL I can't catch this. WebView2.url is empty.
eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, June 4, 2014 9:16:41 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,196
Hi,

I believe our previous reply has already answered your question clearly. You can take a look of our TabbedBrowser sample and see how it works. That sample updates the address bar when the Url of the current WebView changes. We won't debug your code to locate a problem in your code, however if you believe there is a problem on our end, you can try to isolate the problem into a test project and send us the test project. Once we have that we will be happy to look further. See more information about test project here:

http://www.essentialobjects.com/forum/test_project.aspx

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.