|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 11/29/2007 Posts: 25
|
When I modify the properties of the grid (and other controls) the source for the control gets replaced with really poorly formatted code. The source formatting in VS2005 doesn't seem to work on eo: controls either. Any suggestions?
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
That usually happens when VS failed to load our DLL. Make sure you have the right DLL in your bin directory and the project is a local project (Various .NET security things kick in if you have the project sitting on a network, that often causes VS fail to load the DLL). Also try the same thing with our demo project to see if it works. If it still doesn't work, try steps outlined here: http://www.essentialobjects.com/ViewDoc.aspx?t=InstallationAndDeployment%2ffor_vs2005.htmlThanks
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 11/29/2007 Posts: 25
|
Thanks for your response. I tried adding a grid to the demo project page and the source is formatted correctly, but no joy with my project. The eo.web.dll is the same version as in the bin directory of the demo project. Below are two sections of my web.config (tabs removed). Your help is greatly appreciated.
<pages> <controls> <add tagPrefix="asp" namespace="System.Web.UI" assembly="System.Web.Extensions, Version=1.0.61025.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35"/> <add namespace="AjaxControlToolkit" assembly="AjaxControlToolkit" tagPrefix="ajaxToolkit"/> <add assembly="EO.Web, Version=5.0.12.2, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=e92353a6bf73fffc" namespace="EO.Web" tagPrefix="eo" /> </controls> </pages>
<assemblies> <add assembly="System.Web.Extensions, Version=1.0.61025.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35"/> <add assembly="System.Design, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=B03F5F7F11D50A3A"/> <add assembly="System.Windows.Forms, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=B77A5C561934E089"/> <add assembly="EO.Web, Version=5.0.12.2, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=e92353a6bf73fffc" /> </assemblies>
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Did you try it with a blank page?
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 11/29/2007 Posts: 25
|
Yes, it looks bad on a blank page too. Tried both a blank page based on a master page as well as one not using a master page. ??
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Then I do not know what caused it. You might want to start with a blank new project and compare the two projects to see what triggered it.
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 11/29/2007 Posts: 25
|
I can reproduce this as follows... Create a blank project, drag a splitter onto the default.aspx page, add two splitter panes, drag a grid onto the first pane, format the grid using the style1 template. Examine the source and hopefully you also see that the source is not formatted.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Ah...Thanks for the information. It appears to be a problem with the Splitter, not the Grid. We will look into it and see what we can do.
The issue should not affect any runtime behavior. Everything should still work fine rather than Visual Studio not able to format ASPX source nice and neat.
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 11/29/2007 Posts: 25
|
Thanks for the feedback. I have noticed some other strange behavior with sizing the grid - not sure if this is related as it happens outside a splitter pane too. Setting the grid width and height to 100% in order to fill the splitter pane produces a design time grid that is very long vertically, and run-time grid that either has no height or fails to account for the scroll bars.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
You won't be able to use 100% on a Grid inside a splitter. You will need to handle the splitter's OnSplitterResized and resize the Grid inside that handler. However I believe there are still some problems with that. We are working on it and will update the forum as soon as we fix it.
Thanks
|
|