Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

"Index was outside of ... " exception when rendering contents Options
AvendataDev
Posted: Friday, September 6, 2013 9:20:19 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/6/2013
Posts: 2
Hi!

We are using the pdfgenerator to create a pdf of different business reports. We noticed a possible bug(?) when using AcmText with more than 3000 character-long-strings. Even if i split up the long text into a maximum of 2800 char-long-elements, when im trying to render the contents the Render method throws an exception.

Im not sure if there are any text-length restrictions i should be aware of, but the problem seems to be in connection with the overall texts' length.

If anyone encountered into similar problems, can you give me some hints where the source of the problem may be found? Unfortunately, the exception does not contain too many useful information.
The stacktrace contains this:
at EO.Pdf.Acm.AcmTable.c(i A_0)
at EO.Pdf.Acm.AcmContent.o()
at EO.Pdf.Acm.AcmContent.o()
at EO.Pdf.Acm.AcmContent.o()
at EO.Pdf.Acm.AcmContent.o()
at EO.Pdf.Acm.AcmContent.o()
at EO.Pdf.Acm.AcmRender.a(AcmBlock A_0)
at EO.Pdf.Acm.AcmRender.Render(AcmContent[] contents)
at PdfGenerator.EoPdfGenerator.SavePdf() in ...

eo_support
Posted: Friday, September 6, 2013 9:24:42 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,195
Hi,

This would appear to be a bug. Can you try to isolate the problem into a test project and then send us the test project? We will PM you as to where to send.

Thanks!
AvendataDev
Posted: Friday, September 6, 2013 11:12:08 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/6/2013
Posts: 2
eo_support wrote:
Hi,

This would appear to be a bug. Can you try to isolate the problem into a test project and then send us the test project? We will PM you as to where to send.

Thanks!


Hi,

Thank you for your fast reply!

To create a test application with similar, but shorter logic is a bit complicated. Im on it, but it will take some time.
In the meanwhile do you have any guesses what could give that exception when calling Render? In the background we have a structure built-up something like this: AcmTable --> to the table rows we add new AcmTableRow --> to the row we add new AcmTableCell --> ... --> and we add a new AcmText. I heard that if an item has child elements, but one of them is null that may give this exception. Do you know anything like this? My apology for these stupid questions! :) Our application is kinda complex, im just trying to identify the source of the problem and currently i cant see if we made some mistake in the structure (that is possible, of course) or not.
eo_support
Posted: Friday, September 6, 2013 11:30:32 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,195
Hi,

No. We can't guess that. It's a very complicated piece of code so it would cost both you and us more time by trying to shoot in the dark.

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.