Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

Uploader how to prevent incorrect filename input ? Options
Stan92
Posted: Saturday, November 17, 2007 10:52:04 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/15/2007
Posts: 26
Hi,
Is there a way to prevent wrong filename inputs ?
When I write a wrong filename inside the fileupload textbox and press the upload button, the application seems to freeze (or the browse button becomes inactive).
I try it with the online demo, and I get the same problem.
Stan
eo_support
Posted: Saturday, November 17, 2007 1:29:22 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

We verified with both IE and FireFox and we do not see any problem. When you have a wrong file name, it will upload as a zero byte file.

Thanks
Stan92
Posted: Saturday, November 17, 2007 2:39:07 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/15/2007
Posts: 26
Hi,
If you type "blaba" for example and press the upload button, you will see that freezes the system.
When I use IE7 the problem occurs (it works with FF)
I even get a debug window :
EO.Web.Controls.Client.Side Debug Message :
EO.Web.control 'ctl000_AJAXUploader1' error message (set ClientSideOnError to handle this error): Ajax call to the server times out.

You can turn off this message by setting EO.Web.Runtime.DebugLevel to 0 (Not recommended for debug build).

If this message could help.
This test was made from your online demo.

Stan
eo_support
Posted: Saturday, November 17, 2007 2:52:06 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Thanks for the extra information! We see the error message now. We will look into it and reply here as soon as we find anything.
mckulap
Posted: Friday, November 23, 2007 2:49:55 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/18/2007
Posts: 38
any luck with this? Also if I attempt to upload a file larger than the max allowable size nothing happens and any postback operation on the page (such as trying to go to another page by clicking a link) doesn't work either

Any support would be appreciated.
eo_support
Posted: Friday, November 23, 2007 4:01:28 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
mckulap wrote:
any luck with this? Also if I attempt to upload a file larger than the max allowable size nothing happens and any postback operation on the page (such as trying to go to another page by clicking a link) doesn't work either

Any support would be appreciated.


Hi,

We've just posted release 2007.2, which should fixed the original problem.

I am not sure why nothing happens when you upload a file larger than max size though. Are you handling ClientSideOnError event? The default behavior is to display a message box. Another thing you want to check is validators. If one of your validators fails then it's obviously nothing is going to happen when you try to postback.

Thanks
Stan92
Posted: Saturday, November 24, 2007 1:19:46 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/15/2007
Posts: 26
Hello,
I use the latest version.
It seems that the initial problem find its solution, but now, I get a javacript error (using IE7). I can't tell you the error (it get it in french) but it's something about "property or methods that the object doesn't control".

By the way, after installing the latest version, I have the splash screen telling me that ue control requires a license!
Doesn't it mean the license that I bought 2 weeks ago won't work with this version ?

Regards

Stan
eo_support
Posted: Saturday, November 24, 2007 5:07:25 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
You should be able to get the new license for free:

http://www.essentialobjects.com/Forum/Default.aspx?g=posts&t=331

As for the JavaScript error, can you give us the steps to reproduce the error?
Stan92
Posted: Saturday, November 24, 2007 7:53:26 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/15/2007
Posts: 26
Here's what I did to get the javascript error.
Just write anything inside the upload textbox.
Click on the upload button.
And you'll get the javascript error.

And sometimes, when I write anything inside the upload textbox, the upload button stays disabled.

Also, I read the process to get the new license, it seems that I have to pay the difference with my coupon code.. snif. I just bought the license 10 days ago.
Stan
eo_support
Posted: Saturday, November 24, 2007 8:32:40 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Stan92 wrote:
Also, I read the process to get the new license, it seems that I have to pay the difference with my coupon code.. snif. I just bought the license 10 days ago.
Stan


Hi,

I do not think you need to pay anything to upgrade to the new version. If you click "View License Key", you should see a link says "EO.Web Controls 2007.2", click that link would give you access to the new license file. Your license should give you free one year upgrade. And 2007.2 is covered by that.

It appears the original issue has not been entirely fixed yet. We will look further and post in the forum when we find anything.

Thanks

eo_support
Posted: Sunday, November 25, 2007 10:58:51 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Stan92 wrote:
Here's what I did to get the javascript error.
Just write anything inside the upload textbox.
Click on the upload button.
And you'll get the javascript error.

And sometimes, when I write anything inside the upload textbox, the upload button stays disabled.


We tested on IE 6, IE 7 and FireFox and we do not see any JavaScript error with the new build. Are you sure you are using the new build? Also, if you try the same steps with our demo project, do you see any error?
Stan92
Posted: Sunday, November 25, 2007 11:59:32 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/15/2007
Posts: 26
Yes, I have the same error on your demo page (I test the Standard Features)
Here's what I did :
I write blabla and click on Upload.
I get the yellow triangle on the IE7 status bar.
HTH
Stan

mckulap
Posted: Sunday, November 25, 2007 2:24:59 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/18/2007
Posts: 38
guys I downloaded and installed the new version 2007.2

I dropped a new AJAXUploader control onto a test page and only set the temporary file location (which is valid)

now I am getting this error when i try to attempt to upload a file


A Runtime error has occured.
Do you wish to Debug?

Line:0
object doesn't support this property or method




http://babyscribble.com/testupload.aspx

please advise - thank you
When I get this error - I can't even debug it or i guess I shoudl say when i try to debug the error the debugger says it can't find the line.

On top of that - the browser gets stuck perpetually displaying this error and I have to kill the instance of the browser to escape out.

here's is a live page displaying this error

mckulap
Posted: Sunday, November 25, 2007 2:43:33 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/18/2007
Posts: 38
by the way I am using IE 7 on Vista

I don't seem to get the error in Mozilla

ok lastly - my goal is to get the size (in bytes) of the file BEFORE it streams the file to the server; evaluate the size and stop the process if it's over a certain size and post a nice message to the user.

so what I am looking to do is this

1. file uploads limited to 10 MB
2. user tries to upload a 500 MB file
3. your control sees the size as too big before the 500 MB file is set to the server
4. a nice error message says "The file you are trying to upload is 500 MB; uploads are limited to 10 MB"

this should be a split second process

can your control do this?
eo_support
Posted: Sunday, November 25, 2007 5:00:33 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
mckulap wrote:
by the way I am using IE 7 on Vista

I don't seem to get the error in Mozilla

ok lastly - my goal is to get the size (in bytes) of the file BEFORE it streams the file to the server; evaluate the size and stop the process if it's over a certain size and post a nice message to the user.

so what I am looking to do is this

1. file uploads limited to 10 MB
2. user tries to upload a 500 MB file
3. your control sees the size as too big before the 500 MB file is set to the server
4. a nice error message says "The file you are trying to upload is 500 MB; uploads are limited to 10 MB"

this should be a split second process

can your control do this?


Yes. You need to set MaxDataSize. In order to customize the error message, you will need to handle ClientSideOnError. However the current version does not give you the size of the file user tries to upload. So you will only be able to display something like "file is too big", not "A 500K file is too big".

We are looking into your test page and will get back to you as soon as possible.
mckulap
Posted: Sunday, November 25, 2007 5:13:08 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/18/2007
Posts: 38
Thanks - I have that working fine (the MaxDataSize attribute)

in fact it works fine in Mozilla - it gives me a nice error msg that says "File is to large"

but yeah, still getting the weird javascript error in IE 7 in Vista - incase this helps my page source (when it renders) looks like this



[removed by admin]


eo_support
Posted: Sunday, November 25, 2007 11:33:43 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
We have posted a new build (2007.2.11) that should have fixed the IE 7 JavaScript error. You can download the new build from the download page.
mckulap
Posted: Monday, November 26, 2007 5:13:41 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/18/2007
Posts: 38
good work - thanks I will check it and post back here with follow up.

I haven't been able to test the AJAXUploader in great detail yet, but I have seen some inconsistent behavior so far. Such as it working fine then suddenly it takes 2 minutes for it to tell me a 1 MB file is over the MaxDataSize - or it simply doesn't do anything when a file is illegal (type or size)

So I plan on putting this thing through some paces here over the next few days.

Thanks again.
eo_support
Posted: Monday, November 26, 2007 6:33:33 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
mckulap wrote:
but I have seen some inconsistent behavior so far. Such as it working fine then suddenly it takes 2 minutes for it to tell me a 1 MB file is over the MaxDataSize


Occasionaly that occurs when IIS decides to read the whole contents before handling over to ASP.NET (thus our code), we are still trying to find out why IIS does that and that may lead to a solution. Nevertheless, this should not affect the files, all files will still be correctly uploaded.

mckulap wrote:
or it simply doesn't do anything when a file is illegal (type or size)


It should not do that. If you find out a way to reproduce it, please let us know, we will be happy to look into it.
Stan92
Posted: Monday, November 26, 2007 10:57:43 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/15/2007
Posts: 26
Nice,
Everything seems to be ok..
Thanks for your support..

A little question (it's OT).
How can I encrypt an uploaded file with a password ?
Stan


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.