|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 11/15/2007 Posts: 26
|
Hi, Is there a way to prevent wrong filename inputs ? When I write a wrong filename inside the fileupload textbox and press the upload button, the application seems to freeze (or the browse button becomes inactive). I try it with the online demo, and I get the same problem. Stan
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
We verified with both IE and FireFox and we do not see any problem. When you have a wrong file name, it will upload as a zero byte file.
Thanks
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 11/15/2007 Posts: 26
|
Hi, If you type "blaba" for example and press the upload button, you will see that freezes the system. When I use IE7 the problem occurs (it works with FF) I even get a debug window : EO.Web.Controls.Client.Side Debug Message : EO.Web.control 'ctl000_AJAXUploader1' error message (set ClientSideOnError to handle this error): Ajax call to the server times out.
You can turn off this message by setting EO.Web.Runtime.DebugLevel to 0 (Not recommended for debug build).
If this message could help. This test was made from your online demo.
Stan
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Thanks for the extra information! We see the error message now. We will look into it and reply here as soon as we find anything.
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 9/18/2007 Posts: 38
|
any luck with this? Also if I attempt to upload a file larger than the max allowable size nothing happens and any postback operation on the page (such as trying to go to another page by clicking a link) doesn't work either
Any support would be appreciated.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
mckulap wrote:any luck with this? Also if I attempt to upload a file larger than the max allowable size nothing happens and any postback operation on the page (such as trying to go to another page by clicking a link) doesn't work either
Any support would be appreciated. Hi, We've just posted release 2007.2, which should fixed the original problem. I am not sure why nothing happens when you upload a file larger than max size though. Are you handling ClientSideOnError event? The default behavior is to display a message box. Another thing you want to check is validators. If one of your validators fails then it's obviously nothing is going to happen when you try to postback. Thanks
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 11/15/2007 Posts: 26
|
Hello, I use the latest version. It seems that the initial problem find its solution, but now, I get a javacript error (using IE7). I can't tell you the error (it get it in french) but it's something about "property or methods that the object doesn't control".
By the way, after installing the latest version, I have the splash screen telling me that ue control requires a license! Doesn't it mean the license that I bought 2 weeks ago won't work with this version ?
Regards
Stan
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
You should be able to get the new license for free: http://www.essentialobjects.com/Forum/Default.aspx?g=posts&t=331As for the JavaScript error, can you give us the steps to reproduce the error?
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 11/15/2007 Posts: 26
|
Here's what I did to get the javascript error. Just write anything inside the upload textbox. Click on the upload button. And you'll get the javascript error.
And sometimes, when I write anything inside the upload textbox, the upload button stays disabled.
Also, I read the process to get the new license, it seems that I have to pay the difference with my coupon code.. snif. I just bought the license 10 days ago. Stan
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Stan92 wrote:Also, I read the process to get the new license, it seems that I have to pay the difference with my coupon code.. snif. I just bought the license 10 days ago. Stan Hi, I do not think you need to pay anything to upgrade to the new version. If you click "View License Key", you should see a link says "EO.Web Controls 2007.2", click that link would give you access to the new license file. Your license should give you free one year upgrade. And 2007.2 is covered by that. It appears the original issue has not been entirely fixed yet. We will look further and post in the forum when we find anything. Thanks
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Stan92 wrote:Here's what I did to get the javascript error. Just write anything inside the upload textbox. Click on the upload button. And you'll get the javascript error.
And sometimes, when I write anything inside the upload textbox, the upload button stays disabled.
We tested on IE 6, IE 7 and FireFox and we do not see any JavaScript error with the new build. Are you sure you are using the new build? Also, if you try the same steps with our demo project, do you see any error?
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 11/15/2007 Posts: 26
|
Yes, I have the same error on your demo page (I test the Standard Features) Here's what I did : I write blabla and click on Upload. I get the yellow triangle on the IE7 status bar. HTH Stan
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 9/18/2007 Posts: 38
|
guys I downloaded and installed the new version 2007.2 I dropped a new AJAXUploader control onto a test page and only set the temporary file location (which is valid) now I am getting this error when i try to attempt to upload a file
A Runtime error has occured. Do you wish to Debug? Line:0 object doesn't support this property or method http://babyscribble.com/testupload.aspxplease advise - thank you When I get this error - I can't even debug it or i guess I shoudl say when i try to debug the error the debugger says it can't find the line. On top of that - the browser gets stuck perpetually displaying this error and I have to kill the instance of the browser to escape out. here's is a live page displaying this error
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 9/18/2007 Posts: 38
|
by the way I am using IE 7 on Vista
I don't seem to get the error in Mozilla
ok lastly - my goal is to get the size (in bytes) of the file BEFORE it streams the file to the server; evaluate the size and stop the process if it's over a certain size and post a nice message to the user.
so what I am looking to do is this
1. file uploads limited to 10 MB 2. user tries to upload a 500 MB file 3. your control sees the size as too big before the 500 MB file is set to the server 4. a nice error message says "The file you are trying to upload is 500 MB; uploads are limited to 10 MB"
this should be a split second process
can your control do this?
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
mckulap wrote:by the way I am using IE 7 on Vista
I don't seem to get the error in Mozilla
ok lastly - my goal is to get the size (in bytes) of the file BEFORE it streams the file to the server; evaluate the size and stop the process if it's over a certain size and post a nice message to the user.
so what I am looking to do is this
1. file uploads limited to 10 MB 2. user tries to upload a 500 MB file 3. your control sees the size as too big before the 500 MB file is set to the server 4. a nice error message says "The file you are trying to upload is 500 MB; uploads are limited to 10 MB"
this should be a split second process
can your control do this? Yes. You need to set MaxDataSize. In order to customize the error message, you will need to handle ClientSideOnError. However the current version does not give you the size of the file user tries to upload. So you will only be able to display something like "file is too big", not "A 500K file is too big". We are looking into your test page and will get back to you as soon as possible.
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 9/18/2007 Posts: 38
|
Thanks - I have that working fine (the MaxDataSize attribute)
in fact it works fine in Mozilla - it gives me a nice error msg that says "File is to large"
but yeah, still getting the weird javascript error in IE 7 in Vista - incase this helps my page source (when it renders) looks like this
[removed by admin]
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
We have posted a new build (2007.2.11) that should have fixed the IE 7 JavaScript error. You can download the new build from the download page.
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 9/18/2007 Posts: 38
|
good work - thanks I will check it and post back here with follow up.
I haven't been able to test the AJAXUploader in great detail yet, but I have seen some inconsistent behavior so far. Such as it working fine then suddenly it takes 2 minutes for it to tell me a 1 MB file is over the MaxDataSize - or it simply doesn't do anything when a file is illegal (type or size)
So I plan on putting this thing through some paces here over the next few days.
Thanks again.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
mckulap wrote: but I have seen some inconsistent behavior so far. Such as it working fine then suddenly it takes 2 minutes for it to tell me a 1 MB file is over the MaxDataSize Occasionaly that occurs when IIS decides to read the whole contents before handling over to ASP.NET (thus our code), we are still trying to find out why IIS does that and that may lead to a solution. Nevertheless, this should not affect the files, all files will still be correctly uploaded. mckulap wrote:or it simply doesn't do anything when a file is illegal (type or size) It should not do that. If you find out a way to reproduce it, please let us know, we will be happy to look into it.
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 11/15/2007 Posts: 26
|
Nice, Everything seems to be ok.. Thanks for your support..
A little question (it's OT). How can I encrypt an uploaded file with a password ? Stan
|
|