Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

HR line width Options
SimoVinci
Posted: Wednesday, July 25, 2012 4:46:02 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 7/25/2012
Posts: 3
I need to print a SIGN LINE converting from HTML.

I used a HR tag with this css
Code: CSS
hr {
  position:relative;
  display:block;
  border-style:solid;
  border-bottom:0pt;
  border-width:0.3mm;
}


but the line is too much thick!
If I put
Code: CSS
border-width:0.2mm;

or less it doesn't print anything

I have a tag TABLE in page with this border style
Code: CSS
.tabRiassunto tr td {
  text-align:left;
  background-color:LightGray;
  border: solid 0.5pt;
  width:1.96cm;
  padding:2pt;
  text-align:right;
}

It run correctly only for tables.

If I put
Code: CSS
border-width:0.5pt;

it doesn't print anything
eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, July 25, 2012 7:43:19 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,195
Hi,

The basic unit is one pixel as measured on your screen. If it is smaller than one pixel, then it will not print anything. If one pixel on your screen is too thick on the paper, try to increase the DPI of your screen, that will increase the number of pixels per inch thus decrease the thickness of one pixel on paper.

Thanks!
SimoVinci
Posted: Wednesday, July 25, 2012 9:03:15 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 7/25/2012
Posts: 3
Thanks for your prompt answer,
unfortunately 1 pixel is too thick on paper.
What do you mean with "try to increase the DPI of your screen"? Have I to increase my screen resolution (that is 1920x1080)?

The strange thing is that the instruction
Code: CSS
.tabRiassunto tr td {
  border: solid 0.5pt;
}

on tables display correctly the thin line that I want.

But if I use the measure 0.5pt on other tags it don't display nothing.


Now for a line I use something like this:
Code: HTML/ASPX
<table class="line"><tr><td>Text under the line</td></tr></table>

with
Code: CSS
.line tr td {
  border-top: solid 0.5pt;
  width:6cm;
}

but it is not elegant Angel

(sorry for my English! d'oh! )
eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, July 25, 2012 9:21:15 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,195
Hi,

DPI is a Windows setting. It has nothing to do with your screen resolution. You can Google online to see what it is and how to change it.

Thanks!
SimoVinci
Posted: Wednesday, July 25, 2012 10:44:14 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 7/25/2012
Posts: 3
Thanks again.

This application will run on a remote server, I hope we will be able to configure it.
eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, July 25, 2012 5:16:22 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,195
Hi,

In that case you may need to do it some other way. Most remote server won't allow you to change their DPI settings. We have two set of interfaces: HTML to PDF converter and PDF Creator interface. HTML to PDF converter works with "screen pixels" because HTML primarily works with pixels. However the PDF creator can create thinner lines. You may want to consider mixing them together (for example, HTML to PDF converter for text and PDF creator for lines) in order to create the correct output.

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.