Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

HTML to PDF and Bookmarks Options
Ibiuna
Posted: Wednesday, December 14, 2011 12:05:09 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/31/2011
Posts: 34
Hello,

I use HTML to PDF to print a html report which is several pages long, and is created a piece at a time, on the same document.
I read that I can create a a bookemark by getting its contents and using the CreateDestination method.

Code: C#
//Create a PdfBookmark object with text "Chapter 1"            
PdfBookmark bookmark = new PdfBookmark("Chapter 1");

//Initializes the bookmark's Destination property            
bookmark.Destination = content.CreateDestination();

//Add it as a top level bookmark, "doc"
//is a PdfDocument object
doc.Bookmarks.Add(bookmark);


Since my document is HTML to PDF, how can a set the destination of the bookmarks ?

Gratefulfor the help,

Fabio
eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, December 14, 2011 12:50:05 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

The equivalent for that in HTML to PDF is something like this:

Code: C#
//Get the HtmlToPdfResult object
HtmlToPdfResult result = HtmlToPdf.ConvertUrl(.....);

//Get the HtmlElement object. There are several different methods
//on the HtmlDocument for you to get an HtmlElement object. Check
//for the documentation for more details
HtmlElement element = result.HtmlDocument.GetElementById("element_id");

//Create a bookmark pointing to that element
PdfBookmark bookmark = element.CreateBookmark();


Hope this helps. Please feel free to let us know if you have any more questions.

Thanks!
Ibiuna
Posted: Thursday, December 15, 2011 7:27:56 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/31/2011
Posts: 34
Yup, that did the trick.
I'll explore more about the HtmlToPdfResult.

Thanks !
Ibiuna
Posted: Thursday, December 15, 2011 9:38:00 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/31/2011
Posts: 34
Hi,

So, I'm trying to format my pdf document to be read on the ipad, and the default viewer doesnt support (at least I couldn't find it) bookmarks.
So I thought about doing a a manual index using link tags (<a>) on anchor names.

But when I open my files, I can't (even external links) click on any hyperlink.
I'm using adobe reader 9.4.6 and altered the default permission on links, but it still doesn't work.

Any ideias on what I might be doing wrong ?

Thanks.
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, December 15, 2011 9:45:18 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

iPad is known to have some issues with PDF files, for example, it would not prompt password for a password protected PDF file. I do not believe you are doing anything wrong here. As long as the file opens and the links work fine on a PC, your PDF file is fine and the problem is on the iPad side. As the name "PDF" suggest, PDF file is "portable", so there is nothing for iPad specifically in term of the file format.

Thanks!
Ibiuna
Posted: Thursday, December 15, 2011 11:16:22 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/31/2011
Posts: 34
Sorry,

I misexplain myself.

The tests on Adobe Reader I'm running on windows 7 and the links still don't work.
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, December 15, 2011 12:12:09 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

In that case please try to open the same HTML in a browser and see if the link works. If the link does not work in a browser, then the problem is definitely on your HTML side. If the link does open in the browser but does not open in Adobe Reader, then you can create a small test application to demonstrate the problem and we will be happy to take a look.

Thanks!
Ibiuna
Posted: Thursday, December 15, 2011 1:07:08 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/31/2011
Posts: 34
I put together a separate solution to send you guys, but in this new solution the links are working fine.

I'm gonna deep digger into my code to see what may be causing the problem.
There were any problems related to this solved in the last build ?

Thanks,
Fabio
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, December 15, 2011 1:26:44 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

We are not aware of anything related to links in the last build, but if you are not already on the latest build, I would recommend you to upgrade first. The first thing we do when we have your repro project is to run it on the latest build.

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.