|
Rank: Newbie Groups: Member
Joined: 11/5/2010 Posts: 5
|
Hello,
We have recently purchased and installed the AJAXUploader developer license on our development machine. We have also downloaded the Redistribute Key and have placed it in the root of the web application of our test server.
Randomly, when the application posts back, the "requires a license" message box appears.
We are developing using the following: Visual Studio 2010 (project is using .NET Framework 3.5) Windows Server 2003 (.NET Framework 3.5) ASP.NET / AJAX.NET / C#.NET
Thoughts?
John K.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi, Here are the license troubleshooting steps: http://www.essentialobjects.com/forum/postst119_License-troubleshooting.aspxIn order case you can ignore step 4 because you have a developer license. However because you only have license for the AJAXUploader control, so make sure you are not using any other controls (including the uploader progress dialog control, which is covered by the dialog license, not uploader license). Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Newbie Groups: Member
Joined: 11/5/2010 Posts: 5
|
Hello,
I worked through the License troubleshooting steps:
1. The license file was in the root of the application. 2. I ran the code test, and it found the file. 3. The license is for version 8.0 and the DLL version is 8.0.34.2. 4. Not applicable.
Since this was obviously not working, I opted to implement a Global Application Class. I grabbed the license code from the Redistribute Key tab, and republished the code. Problem still exists.
Any further thoughts?
JK
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Run all test ON YOUR SERVER. Do not test on your development machine. When you republish your code, Visual Studio will delete the license file on your server for you. So what's on your server can be different than what's on your dev machine. The license troubleshooting steps should cover all cases. If the license is not working, then one of the steps will fail.
|
|
Rank: Newbie Groups: Member
Joined: 11/5/2010 Posts: 5
|
All testing is being done on my test server.
To eliminate a missing file issue, I have placed the license in the Global.asax file in the Application_Start procedure.
Prior to doing this, I verified, both programatically and visually that the license file existed. Since it was still showing the "requires a license" message, I opted to place the license in the code.
Even with the license in the code, it is still displaying the "requires a license" during postback.
Are there any known issues with the AJAX.NET code set?
JK
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Try to get the license file working first. License file and Application_Start have the same effect but license file is easier to troubleshoot. Also please post the exact license error message and we will see what we can find. There are no known issues about the license.
If the problem continues, we will need to access your servers to take a look. If your server is accessible from outside, you can PM us the public Url to the problem site and also FTP logins so that we can see and examine the files. If your server is not accessible from outside, we can setup a remote meeting for you to share your desktop to us so that we can see it through your desktop.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Newbie Groups: Member
Joined: 11/5/2010 Posts: 5
|
Wait... I may have located an issue.
We purchased the AJAX Uploader license. I assumed that the AJAXUploaderProgressDialog was part of this license. Is this the case?
JK
|
|
Rank: Newbie Groups: Member
Joined: 11/5/2010 Posts: 5
|
Here is the full message... AJAXUploaderProgressDialog ctl00_PageContent_tcAccountInfo_tpLogos_auLogoDialog requires a license. You can purchase a license from http://www.essentialobjects.com/Order.aspx. Please refresh the page to continue. More on license.
Already have a license? See troubleshooting License problems.JK
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Yes. That is the case we mentioned in our first reply.
AJAXUploaderProgressDialog is covered by the dialog license, not the uploader license. This is similar to the ContextMenu for TreeView and DateTime cell in the Grid. The TreeView's license does not cover the ContextMenu (need a Menu license) and the Grid's license does not cover the DateTime picker (need a Calendar license).
You can modify your code to avoid using the progress dialog control, or upgrade to the full suite license for the price difference. Theoretically there is also another option of purchasing a separate license for the dialog control, but the cost is about the same as upgrading to the suite license so it wouldn't be worth it.
If you do wish to upgrade to the suite license, you will need a discount code so that you will only pay the price difference. Please let us know if you wish to do that so that we can create the code for you.
Thanks!
|
|