Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

Grid keyboard navigation with Custom columns containing DatePickers Options
DTU
Posted: Monday, August 9, 2010 8:53:02 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 5/19/2010
Posts: 35
Hi,

I've currently got a grid with keyboard navigation enabled. When a cell is selected, it will automatically go into edit mode. Tabbing between cells is all working well, except for one cell which has a number of controls including a DatePicker which is given focus on the cell's begin edit function.

I've noticed that DatePicker has its own EnableKeyboardNavigation, so I'm assuming this is where the issue is happening. Is there a way to set it so the DatePicker's tab is ignored and the overall cell's 'tab' event is done instead? Setting the DatePicker's EnableKeyboardNavigation to false didn't seem to do the trick.

Thanks!

eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, August 10, 2010 9:20:00 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

Unfortunately there is no way to disable that. EnableKeyboardNavigation is an inherited property but it is not used by the DatePicker.

Thanks!
DTU
Posted: Tuesday, August 10, 2010 8:55:54 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 5/19/2010
Posts: 35
Ah yep, that should be fine.

A further issue we're having: We've got a page which consists of a "Search Grid" which dynamically loads a "Results Grid" after the user presses the search button. Both have Keyboard Navigation enabled, but the Search Grid seems to lose this functionality somewhat after the postback is called: Tabbing through the grid doesn't appear to work as it should, with the cell simply exiting edit mode. Is there any reason this may be happening?
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, August 10, 2010 10:01:05 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

We can't think of anything that can cause this. Can you create a test page demonstrating the problem?

Thanks!
DTU
Posted: Thursday, August 12, 2010 9:16:44 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 5/19/2010
Posts: 35
I'll try and get a test page to you ASAP.

One more question regarding Keyboard Navigation: I noticed there was an example you posted around selecting a Textbox belonging to a TextBoxColumn on edit, is there a way to do a similar thing for selecting the checkbox in a CheckBoxColumn? We're essentially wanting the whole grid to be navigatable by keyboard.

Thanks again!
eo_support
Posted: Friday, August 13, 2010 8:34:10 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

I don't believe there is anyway to do that in the current version. The idea of CustomColumn is to let the custom column to handle everything, including navigational keys (such as arrows, enters, esc, tab, etc). So if we were to handle those keys, it can get a little bit tricky if the CustomColumn wants to handle those keys as well. A possible solution is to have the Grid to provide a handler that the CustomColumn can call when it wants the Grid to handle those keys, however that has yet to be implemented.

Thanks!
DTU
Posted: Sunday, August 15, 2010 11:13:25 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 5/19/2010
Posts: 35
I'm not entirely sure I'm following your reply, I was asking about TextBoxColumns. Is there a way to make it so when a TextBoxColumn is selected, its relevent checkbox is put into focus? I noticed there was a similar example posted for TextBoxColumns which did a similar thing.
eo_support
Posted: Monday, August 16, 2010 9:04:22 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

Sorry I misunderstood your question. I do not think the same logic works for CheckBoxColumn. TextBoxColumn has an explicit "edit mode" but CheckBoxColumn does not. I believe the sample you are talking about automatically puts the TextBoxColumn into "edit mode" when it is selected, however because CheckBoxColumn does not have an edit mode, so there is no way for you to do so.


Thanks!
DTU
Posted: Sunday, August 29, 2010 11:03:16 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 5/19/2010
Posts: 35
Ah yep, that's fine.

One more question: Is it possible to 'lap past' columns which are readonly? I can't find any javascript functions alongthe lines of GetVisibility so I'm sort of wondering about this one.
eo_support
Posted: Monday, August 30, 2010 9:19:44 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

No. You cannot do that. The only cells that are skipped are fixed columns. The reason is users need to be able to tab through the read only columns in order to correctly scroll the Grid. Imagine that you have a Grid with 10 columns with the first 9 being read-only. If the Grid is only wide enough to show 3 columns, then user would never be able to see the left most columns by keyboard because they wouldn't get focus into those cells if the Grid were to skip read only cells.

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.