Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

grids in version 8.0.15.2 Options
Peter B
Posted: Friday, July 2, 2010 8:58:00 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/2/2009
Posts: 39
Hi,

Don't understand what happens. All my grids show an error 'An error occurred while rendering the control: Der Objektverweis wurde nicht auf eine Objektinstanz festgelegt'.
This is in Visual Studio 2010 for XP and for Windows 7. All these grids where working for almost 1 year now!

My first fiddling around showed that inserting ButtonColumns and CheckboxColumns force the problem.

Would it be better to go back to an older release?

Many thanks for your help
Peter Bollinger

Code: HTML/ASPX
eo:Grid ID="gvPersons" runat="server" AllowPaging="True" BorderColor="#C7D1DF" BorderWidth="1px"
	AllowColumnReorder="True" ClientSideOnItemCommand="startedit" ColumnHeaderAscImage="00050303"
	ColumnHeaderDescImage="00050304" ColumnHeaderDividerImage="00050302" DataTable=""
	Font-Bold="False" Font-Italic="False" Font-Names="Verdana" Font-Overline="False"
	Font-Size="9pt" Font-Strikeout="False" Font-Underline="False" GridLineColor="199, 209, 223"
	GridLines="Both" ItemHeight="19" KeyField="addId" OnItemCommand="gvPersonsEdit_Clicked"
	Width="100%" Height="450px">
	<ItemStyles>
		<eo:GridItemStyleSet>
			<ItemStyle CssText="background-color: white" />
			<ItemHoverStyle CssText="background-image: url(00050206); background-repeat: repeat-x" />
			<SelectedStyle CssText="background-image: url(00050207); background-repeat: repeat-x" />
			<CellStyle CssText="padding-left:8px;padding-top:2px; color:#336699;white-space:nowrap;" />
		</eo:GridItemStyleSet>
	</ItemStyles>
	<ColumnTemplates>
		<eo:TextBoxColumn>
			<TextBoxStyle CssText="BORDER-RIGHT: #7f9db9 1px solid; PADDING-RIGHT: 2px; BORDER-TOP: #7f9db9 1px solid; PADDING-LEFT: 2px; FONT-SIZE: 8.75pt; PADDING-BOTTOM: 1px; MARGIN: 0px; BORDER-LEFT: #7f9db9 1px solid; PADDING-TOP: 2px; BORDER-BOTTOM: #7f9db9 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Tahoma" />
		</eo:TextBoxColumn>
	</ColumnTemplates>
	<ColumnHeaderStyle CssText="background-image:url('00050301');
		padding-left:8px;padding-top:2px;font-weight: bold;color:white;" />
	<Columns>
		<eo:ButtonColumn ButtonText="Edit" CommandName="edit" Name="Edit" Width="50">
		</eo:ButtonColumn>
		<eo:TextBoxColumn AllowSort="True" DataField="addLastName" HeaderText="Nachname"
			Name="lastName" ReadOnly="True">
		</eo:TextBoxColumn>
		<eo:TextBoxColumn AllowSort="True" DataField="addFirstName" HeaderText="Vorname"
			Name="firstName" ReadOnly="True">
		</eo:TextBoxColumn>
		<eo:CustomColumn AllowSort="True" DataField="addSexcode" HeaderText="Sex" Name="sex"
			ReadOnly="True" Width="60" ClientSideGetText="getSex">
			<CellStyle CssText="text-align: center; color: #336699" />
		</eo:CustomColumn>
		<eo:TextBoxColumn AllowSort="True" DataField="addStreet" HeaderText="Strasse" Name="street">
		</eo:TextBoxColumn>
		<eo:TextBoxColumn AllowSort="True" DataField="addZip" HeaderText="PLZ" Name="zip">
		</eo:TextBoxColumn>
		<eo:TextBoxColumn AllowSort="True" DataField="addCommunity" HeaderText="Gemeinde"
			Name="comm">
		</eo:TextBoxColumn>
		<eo:TextBoxColumn AllowSort="True" DataField="addId" Width="80" HeaderText="ID" Name="ID"
			ReadOnly="True">
			<CellStyle CssText="text-align: center; color: #336699" />
		</eo:TextBoxColumn>
		<eo:TextBoxColumn AllowSort="True" DataField="roles" HeaderText="Rollen" Width="60">
			<CellStyle CssText="text-align: center; color: #336699" />
		</eo:TextBoxColumn>
		<eo:CheckBoxColumn AllowSort="True" DataField="addActive" HeaderText="Aktiv" Width="60"
			ReadOnly="True">
			<CellStyle CssText="text-align: center; color: #336699" />
		</eo:CheckBoxColumn>
	</Columns>
	<FooterStyle CssText="padding-bottom:4px;padding-left:4px;padding-right:4px;padding-top:4px;" />
</eo:Grid>
eo_support
Posted: Friday, July 2, 2010 9:01:20 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

That is most likely a version mismatch. You installed a new version on your machine but did not update your project reference to use the new version. Please try to update your project reference, rebuild the project and see if it works for you.

Thanks!
Peter B
Posted: Friday, July 2, 2010 11:00:37 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/2/2009
Posts: 39
Hi,

No, I checked several times to be sure:

Installed: 8.0.15.2
Bin: 8.0.15.2
Reference: 8.0.15.2 (C:\PrimeTeach3\Bin\EO.Web.dll)

I don't know of anything else I can do?

Peter
eo_support
Posted: Friday, July 2, 2010 11:05:17 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Do you get the same error if you run the page? If so, what's the stack trace?

Thanks!
Peter B
Posted: Friday, July 2, 2010 11:40:50 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/2/2009
Posts: 39
Hi,

It compiles without any problems.
It's just the preview in Visual Studio 2010 which fails.

Peter
eo_support
Posted: Friday, July 2, 2010 11:49:22 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

Can you restart VS or your computer? This is almost always a version mismatch but maybe some files are cached by Visual Studio and has not been updated. You can also try to start a blank new project and see if it works.

Thanks
Peter B
Posted: Friday, July 2, 2010 1:34:36 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/2/2009
Posts: 39
Yes, I did both, because I am at home now. with my laptop (windows 7).
At start, the same error showed up. but then I added another TabStrip just for test, then I was asked to add a second EO.Web.dll to the existing one. I agreed and now the grid displays correct.

Observation:
There is still one reference in VS which looks the same as before, so what did change?

Another minor item is the display of 'x' es on the title line for a missing graphic. This is independant of the template used and also shows up in a new Project.

Many thanks for your fast help
Peter
eo_support
Posted: Friday, July 2, 2010 5:24:42 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Peter B wrote:
Observation:
There is still one reference in VS which looks the same as before, so what did change?

It is truely that your project was still holding the old reference. You may want to check that once you dragged it over, the DLL in your bin file didn't get changed again. If it did, then you will need to manually remove and re-add our DLL to your toolbox.

Peter B wrote:
Another minor item is the display of 'x' es on the title line for a missing graphic. This is independant of the template used and also shows up in a new Project.

Does this occur to all any Grid or just one template?
Peter B
Posted: Saturday, July 3, 2010 12:13:28 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/2/2009
Posts: 39
Hi,

Thank you for your patience. I had really to fiddle with deleting the reference, copying and restarting everithing. At end I still had to insert a new EO control somewhere in a page to force the question 'Do you want to overwrite the existing EO.Web.dll. But beware, it may prompt for 'eo.web.dll' or EO.Web.dll' and I must agree to the latter!

Could it be that the toolbox also needs to be refreshed?

To the missing graphics in the grid header: This happens only on the laptop with Windows 7 (64 bit) and not on XP. And it is in every grid and in every template!

I wish you a good weekend
Peter
eo_support
Posted: Saturday, July 3, 2010 2:00:19 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

Thank you very for the additional information. We will look into the image issue and let you know as soon as we find anything.

Thanks!
Paul
Posted: Friday, July 9, 2010 11:11:37 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 6/10/2010
Posts: 9
Hi

I have the exact same problem. When you add a buton column the grid control will not render in preview althougbht the grid works in runtime. I am using a new computer it has never had any previous versions of EO.Web.dll installed.
eo_support
Posted: Friday, July 9, 2010 11:26:04 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

Is this also Windows 7 64 bit + VS 10?

Thanks!
Paul
Posted: Friday, July 9, 2010 11:53:39 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 6/10/2010
Posts: 9
No, I am using Windows XP, Visual web developer 2008

Thanks
eo_support
Posted: Friday, July 9, 2010 12:03:09 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

We are not aware of that problem. Can you try 2010.0.17 and see if it still has the same problem?

Thanks
Peter B
Posted: Friday, July 9, 2010 5:21:53 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/2/2009
Posts: 39
Hi,

Additional informations on version 8.0.15:
The editor control cannot find ii's gifs in visual studio.
The grids do not render at all.

I was misleaded a while because i had bin/EO.Web.dll.refresh pointing to an older version 8.0.13. With this wrong pointer the rendering in visual studio 2008/2010 is correct.

So version 8.0.15 is definitifly broken.

Thanks
Peter Bollinger
Peter B
Posted: Monday, July 12, 2010 4:29:51 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/2/2009
Posts: 39
Hi,

I loaded 2010.0.17 but i see the same problem in visual studio as missing gifs in grid/editor and no rendering of gifs, if they contain buttons or checkboxes.
On uninstalling of 2010.0.15 I also deleted the EO toolbox and the dll reference then restarted VS to make sure to empty all caches.
On installing of 2010.0.17 i got an 'ToolBox Control Installer Package' message as 'could not be orderly loaded'. The message pointed to an ..\VisulalStudio\10\ActivityLog.xml but there was nothing about EO.Web.
Beside of this message, the toolbox was loaded correctly, i only had to copy EO.Web.dll and set the reference for it.

Since your demo programs are working correct, i wonder if my problem comes from the fact that I have both VS 2008 and VS 2010 installed on my system?

Any hint is welcome
Peter
eo_support
Posted: Monday, July 12, 2010 9:54:48 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi Peter,

The design time image issue is a confirmed bug in VS2010 and we are still working on it. It should not affect anything else though so everything else in VS2010 should be working fine just as you observed. We will update this thread again as new information is available on this issue.

Thanks!
Paul
Posted: Monday, July 12, 2010 10:10:04 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 6/10/2010
Posts: 9
Hi

It does affect something, as I've just noticed my grids now do not page. The post back event fires but the grid only displays the first page of data.

eo_support
Posted: Monday, July 12, 2010 10:17:05 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi Paul,

You and Peter are talking about two totally different issues. Peter's issue is strictly related to VS2010 and only occurs on the VS2010's design surface. Your issue is completely unrelated to this issue. This thread is for Peter's issue only. So you may want to create a new thread for your issue so that we can track both issues separately.

Thanks!
eo_support
Posted: Monday, July 12, 2010 3:43:45 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi Peter,

We have posted a new build that should resolve this issue. Please see your private message for download location.

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.