Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

trouble while using html editor Options
ieQ network AG
Posted: Thursday, December 10, 2009 5:02:40 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/10/2009
Posts: 4
Ladies and Gentlemen,

i still have some trouble while using the html editor from your toolkit. i also tried to find any idea in the documentation but i still have no idea. perhaps you may help me?

i try to use the html editor with an individual listbox (list of predefined styles) and i only want a few buttons like copy, cut and paste.
The listbox is inserted correctly but the buttons are still not available. I only see a text "??Undo" or "??cut" instead of the button. My Code is the following:
Code: HTML/ASPX
<eo:Editor
                                              runat="server"
                                              EnableKeyboardNavigation="true"
                                              ID="EditorContentLong"
                                              Height="300"
                                              Width="550"
                                              ToolBarSet="Standard"
                                              CssBlock="Editor_Main">
                                                <Styles>
                                                  <eo:EditorStyle CssClass="text_klein" Name="text_klein" />
                                                  <eo:EditorStyle CssClass="text_fett" Name="text_fett" />
                                                  <eo:EditorStyle CssClass="text_kursiv" Name="text_kursiv" />
                                                </Styles>
                                                <CustomHeaderTemplate>
                                                  <eo:ToolBar runat="server" ID="Toolbar1" CssClass="Editor_ToolBar" Height="35" Width="100%">
                                                   <Items>
                                                      <eo:ToolBarItem ToolTip="Styles" CommandName="Styles" Type="Custom">
                                                        <CustomItem>
                                                          Styles: <asp:DropDownList runat="server" ID="StyleDropDown" Width="150" />
                                                        </CustomItem>
                                                      </eo:ToolBarItem>
                                                      <eo:ToolBarItem Text="Undo" CommandName="undo" CommandArgument="undo" Type="DropDownMenu" />
                                                      <eo:ToolBarItem Text="Copy" CommandName="copy" CommandArgument="copy" Type="Custom" />
                                                      <eo:ToolBarItem Text="cut" CommandName="cut" Type="Button" />
                                                      <eo:ToolBarItem Text="RemoveStyles" CommandName="RemoveStyles" Type="Button" />
                                                    </Items>
                                                  </eo:ToolBar>
                                                </CustomHeaderTemplate>
                                              </eo:Editor>


Do you have any idea what is wrong with my code?

Sincerely
Sebastian Stöcker (ieQ network AG)
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, December 10, 2009 10:08:47 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

There are several problems in your code:

1. You need to set the Editor's TextAreaCssFile property to load your custom css styles ("text_klein", etc) into the editor. CssBlock load the styles for the Editor UI (toolbar, footers, etc). The editing area is a different document, so CssBlock does not apply;

2. The CommandName for your ToolBarItem ares case-sensitive. For example, "undo" should be "Undo";

3. The type for both Undo and Copy button needs to be "Button". They can not be "DropDown" or "Custom";

4. Command "RemoveStyles" does not exist;

Thanks!
ieQ network AG
Posted: Thursday, December 10, 2009 10:54:32 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/10/2009
Posts: 4
Hi,

thank you for your quick answer. Sorry i still had some changes in my code for testing.
1. i set the TextAreaCssFile from codebehind because the path must be generated dynamicly.
2. if i change the commandnames to case sensitive it does not make any difference
3. even the same after i switched the type to "button" - no effect

so now my code looks like the following:

Code: HTML/ASPX
<eo:Editor
  runat="server"
  EnableKeyboardNavigation="true"
  ID="EditorContentLong"
  Height="300"
  Width="550"
  ToolBarSet="Standard"
  CssBlock="Editor_Main">
    <Styles>
      <eo:EditorStyle CssClass="text_klein" Name="text_klein" />
      <eo:EditorStyle CssClass="text_fett" Name="text_fett" />
      <eo:EditorStyle CssClass="text_kursiv" Name="text_kursiv" />
    </Styles>
    <CustomHeaderTemplate>
      <eo:ToolBar runat="server" ID="Toolbar1" CssClass="Editor_ToolBar" Height="35" Width="100%">
       <Items>
          <eo:ToolBarItem ToolTip="Styles" CommandName="Styles" Type="Custom">
            <CustomItem>
              Styles: <asp:DropDownList runat="server" ID="StyleDropDown" Width="150" />
            </CustomItem>
          </eo:ToolBarItem>
          <eo:ToolBarItem Text="Undo" CommandName="Undo" CommandArgument="undo" Type="Button" />
          <eo:ToolBarItem Text="Copy" CommandName="Copy" CommandArgument="copy" Type="Button" />
          <eo:ToolBarItem Text="cut" CommandName="Cut" Type="Button" />
        </Items>
      </eo:ToolBar>
    </CustomHeaderTemplate>
  </eo:Editor>


do you have any other idea?

bye
Sebastian
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, December 10, 2009 10:58:55 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Make sure you are running the latest version (try compare your version number with the version number displayed on the download page). We tried your code on the latest version and it works fine.

Thanks!
ieQ network AG
Posted: Friday, December 11, 2009 3:11:58 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/10/2009
Posts: 4
hi,

i checked my version. it is 7.0.41.2 and seems to be the latest version. but i still can't see the buttons...

which version did you check with my code?
eo_support
Posted: Friday, December 11, 2009 7:28:29 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
7.0.41 should be good enough. You say you don't see the buttons, do you mean your toolbar is completely empty? We see text "Undo", "Copy" and "Cut" as all disabled when the page loads. "Undo" will be enabled as you type. "Copy" and "Cut" will be enabled as soon as you have a selection.

Thanks
ieQ network AG
Posted: Tuesday, December 22, 2009 3:20:33 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 12/10/2009
Posts: 4
Hi,

thank you for your answer. I was able to fix it. I recognized that I still had the buttons included to the toolbar but there were no images available which this buttons could use. so I also added some images and with the "ImageUrl" Tag I was able to display the buttons.

but now i got another question. we use individual html-tags which are replaced and the functions are executed by our cms while rendering the page.
the tags are like:

Code: HTML/ASPX
<IEQMS function="DoSomeThing" param="Parameter=noparam">Some Description Text</IEQMS>


If I fill this into HTML-View in the Editor and switch to Design-View the tags are lost and only "Some Description Text" is still available.
The Editor seems to render and replace the tags <IEQMS....>

Do you still have any idea for this behavior?

thanks a lot for your help

bye
Sebastian
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, December 22, 2009 7:18:41 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

This is normal. The Editor is an "HTML" Editor. It does not recognize take your custom tags. In order for it to preserve custom tags for you, you will need to replace your custom tag with standard HTML tags and then replace them back when done.

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.