Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

Editor preview reports 'document' is null or not an object Options
Duane
Posted: Monday, August 10, 2009 2:29:13 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/4/2007
Posts: 114
Today I started getting the following runtime errors when switching to Preview mode in the Editor:

Microsoft JScript runtime error: 'document' is null or not an object

The line it is pointing to is in e_web.ashx in function _eofed_ee() on the following command:

Code: JavaScript
c.document.write(b);

function _eofed_ee(){var a=this.eo_vt;var b=_eofi_ee();var c=_eofcf_c(this);b="<base href=\""+b+"\" />";c.document.write(b);}


Clicking continue displays the following error:

Microsoft JScript runtime error:

Object doesn't support this property or method, and points to this line:

Code: JavaScript
_thisFrame.eo_InitHead()

var _thisFrame = window.frameElement; if (_thisFrame && _thisFrame.eo_InitHead) 	_thisFrame.eo_InitHead();



Any idea what may be the cause of these errors?
eo_support
Posted: Monday, August 10, 2009 2:56:23 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

We are not sure. Can you check whether c has a value or not? Also does this occur on a certain browser/OS or on all browsers all the time?

Thanks!
Duane
Posted: Monday, August 10, 2009 4:00:56 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/4/2007
Posts: 114
c is undefined.

Can't test all os/browsers as I am in dev only at this time.

Firefox stops running the script when it gets to this line:
Editor1.setHtml(html);
Is there an alternate syntax for Firefox? The dialog opens in Firefox if I exclude the .setHtml() method call.

Here is my javascript code to load html into the editor and open the dialog (works fine in IE):

Code: JavaScript
function GetContentForEditor(labelid) {
            CurrentElement = labelid;
            currElementHolder = $get('<%= currentElement.ClientID %>');
            currElementHolder.value = CurrentElement;
            html = document.getElementById(labelid).innerHTML;
            Editor1 = eo_GetObject('Editor1');
            Editor1.setHtml(html);            
            eo_GetObject('DialogEditor').show(true);
        }
eo_support
Posted: Monday, August 10, 2009 4:48:17 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

For the document is "null" problem, please check the following values in the debugger when the stack frame is inside _eofed_ee:

c --> Known, as "null"
this.outerHTML --> Please check
this.id --> Please check
this.contentWindow.location -> Please check

The second issue has to do with timing. It appears FireFox won't let you set anything when the editor is not visible. Try to show the dialog first, then use setTimeout to delay your setHtml like this:

Code: JavaScript
eo_GetObject('DialogEditor').show(true);
setTimeout(function()
{
    Editor1.setHtml(html);
}, 200);


Thanks!
Duane
Posted: Monday, August 10, 2009 6:13:58 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/4/2007
Posts: 114
The SetTimeout() function worked to resolve the Firefox issue with setHtml() method.

However, now it appears that in Firefox, when you select a new image in the editor using the "Edit Image" and "Browse Image" dialogs, the image url is not updated in the resulting Html, even though the editor shows the newly selected image in Design and Preview. If you look at the HTML view, it still shows the old filename. Unless you actually update the the url in HTML view, it will not be updated (in firefox).

(fyi, the c = null problem mysteriously went away, maybe something whack in my dev web server.)

Thanks,
Duane
Duane
Posted: Tuesday, August 11, 2009 10:04:31 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/4/2007
Posts: 114
Ok, the error when switching the Editor to Preview returned today. I've stopped the server, rebuilt and run again with the same result:

c.document.write(b)

c = undefined
this.outerHTML = undefined
this.id = "ctl00_ContentPlaceHolder1_DialogEditor_ctl00_Editor1_iframep"
this.contentWindow.location = {http://localhost:53111/eo_web.ashx?id=32d49670-2c71-4c21-821e-a31bc15f2716}

The SetTimeout() function corrected the Html loading issue in Firefox.

However, Firefox still does not update the url when selecting images.
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, August 11, 2009 12:12:26 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

We are still working on the selecting image issue. We can not explain why you have c as undefined and yet this.contentWindow has a value because they suppose to be the same. The following code returns this.contentWindow to "c" on IE:

var c=_eofcf_c(this);

If you see it again in the debugger, you may want to step into eofcf_c and see why this.contentWindow has a value, but c does not. The following is _eofcf_c's source code for your reference:

Code: JavaScript
function _eofcf_c(frame)
{    
    if (frame.contentDocument &&                  //For Gecko based browsers
        frame.contentDocument.defaultView && 
        browser_is_not_safari)
        return frame.contentDocument.defaultView;
    else if (frame.contentWindow)                  //For IE
        return frame.contentWindow;
   else
       ...does not apply
}


The code provided is based on the latest version. So you may want to update to the latest version if you have not already done so.

Thanks
Duane
Posted: Tuesday, August 11, 2009 2:25:44 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/4/2007
Posts: 114
The failed image selecting issue applies to all non-IE browsers: e.g.: Firefox, Safari, Chrome, tested on Vista Business.

I don't see the above referenced function in my debugger, I am installing the new (_70_23) build now. We are currently running 2008.0.63 build.

Thanks
Duane
Posted: Tuesday, August 11, 2009 4:38:51 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/4/2007
Posts: 114
Installing version 7 seems to have resolved the c = undefined issue.

Editor is still not updating the HTML image URL in Firefox, Chrome and Safari, however.
Interestingly, the img tag alt, Width and Height attributes are updated.

Thanks
eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, August 12, 2009 1:54:13 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

We have posted a new build that should fix the image Url issue. You can download the new build directly from our download page.

Thanks!
Duane
Posted: Thursday, August 13, 2009 11:55:47 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/4/2007
Posts: 114
Hello,

I have downloaded and installed the new build. It fixed the image url issue for selecting images.

Occasionally when uploading images using Firefox, Safari, Chrome, the upload process appears to not complete sucessfully and the uploaded image is not displayed.

Also, Firefox, Safari and Chrome seem to periodically loose the ColorPicker and text formatting functions when editing markup.


Thanks,

Duane


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.