|
Rank: Newbie Groups: Member
Joined: 7/2/2009 Posts: 9
|
When trying to upload a 300MB file, the AJAX Uploader goes through the motions of uploading, but when it gets to 100%, it just sits there for 5-10 seconds and then it gives me the "AJAX call to the server times out" error. Here's the setup for the uploader:
Code: Visual Basic.NET
VideoUpload.AutoPostBack = True
VideoUpload.MaxFileCount = 1
VideoUpload.MaxDataSize = 3145728
Here are the changes I made to my web.config:
Code: XML
<system.webServer>
<security>
<requestFiltering>
<requestLimits maxAllowedContentLength="100000000"/>
</requestFiltering>
</security>
</system.webServer>
<system.web>
<httpRuntime executionTimeout="6000" maxRequestLength="2097151" />
<httpModules>
<add name="EOWebRuntime" type="EO.Web.Runtime,EO.Web"/>
</httpModules>
</system.web>
Any ideas about what could be going wrong? I am able to upload smaller files with no problems I've uploaded files up to 63 MB. A 79MB file I tried was the smallest file that didn't work. Thanks, Jeff
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
Do you have FinalFileLocation set or copy the file manually by yourself? As a test, please try to skip that part (clearing FinalFileLocation and also temporarily comment out file copying code) to see if it has anything to do with.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Newbie Groups: Member
Joined: 7/2/2009 Posts: 9
|
I do have the TempFileLocation and the FinalFileLocation values set.
When I successfully upload the smaller files, I have verified that the file is copied to the final file location. When the upload fails, there is no file in the final location.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
Can you try to clear FinalFileLocation (so that all files will stay in TempFileLocation) and run the page again and see if you get any error?
I am suspecting that the file copying process is taking too long and locks up the ASP.NET request queue. If that's the case, you can try to clear FinalFileLocation, then handle FileUploaded event and start the copy in a background thread. This allows the request itself to respond to the client quickly while the file copying is still in progress in the background.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Newbie Groups: Member
Joined: 7/2/2009 Posts: 9
|
That didn't appear to help. I still got the error.
If it helps, when I get the error message, the progress status says "...315797788 bytes of 315797789 bytes (100%)..." There's always one byte missing.
I checked the temp file location, and the only files in that folder are the "eouploader..." files.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
All temp files created by the uploader has a name in the form of "eouploader....". Please check whether you have a .DATA file that keeps growing while you are uploading. That's the file that's being uploaded.
Also try create a blank aspx page with an asp:FileUpload control. Try to upload a big file with that and see if it goes through (assuming you have enough memory because ASP.NET holds the uploaded file in memory). That can tell you whether it has anything to do with your IIS settings.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Newbie Groups: Member
Joined: 7/2/2009 Posts: 9
|
The .data file does increase in size as the file is uploaded.
I created the blank aspx page with the asp:FileUpload control, and was able to upload the 300MB file with no problems.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
I do not know what it is then. If you can give us access to the server, we can make a debug build with additional debug information and then try that to see whether that reveals anything. It will most likely take a number of rounds to find out the root cause, but if the problem can be easily reproduced, it should not be too difficult to track down. We use gotomeeting to do remote sessions. Please let us know if you are interested in that.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Newbie Groups: Member
Joined: 7/2/2009 Posts: 9
|
Is it possible for me to set up the debug build and send you the additional debug information?
I haven't had a chance to ask yet, but I'm not sure that my boss or my IT department would be ok with a remote session like that. I'll ask about it, but if there's another way, then I'd definitely like to hear about it. :)
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
JRichmond wrote:Is it possible for me to set up the debug build and send you the additional debug information? We are fine with that but it will be much less efficient than us looking at the screen directly. If we have a direct access, we can check much more than debug information, for example, files in your directory, debugging scripts on the fly, or even merely observing the behavior of the page may reveal something. Otherwise we can still go back and forth with the debug information, but that would take much of your time because we do not expect we will be able to hit right on the target on the first try. It's most likely to be back and forth multiple times. Gotomeeting is a service that is specifically designed for this kind of situations. You will be able to watch it while we are working on it, but we will be able to do things much faster without having to get you involved every step. For example, we can make a build, put it on our server, then immediately download it on your machine and try it. Without that we will have to write you an email with detailed step by step instruction on where to download what, what to try, what data needs to collected, then wait for you to do those and send us some data back, then analyze the data and made some changes and then try again over and over.
|
|
Rank: Newbie Groups: Member
Joined: 7/2/2009 Posts: 9
|
Are you in the office today? Would it be possible to try the Gotomeeting option this afternoon?
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
We can do that. Please see your private message for the meeting link.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 6/3/2009 Posts: 27
|
Was this problem ever resolved? We have a client who is getting the same error "AJAX call to the server times out" and we need a solution.
|
|
Rank: Newbie Groups: Member
Joined: 7/2/2009 Posts: 9
|
Yes, the problem was resolved for us... the issue turned out to be caused by the fact that I was developing and testing on my local machine. So, when I tried uploading a large file, I was effectively uploading from my local machine, to my local machine.
Once we moved the web application to our live server, we no longer got that error.
I hope that helps!
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi JRichmond, Thanks for the update!
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 6/3/2009 Posts: 27
|
Thanks .. unfortunately that doesn't apply to our scenario, so I'll just keep digging in the support forum for any other instances of this particular error. I appreciate your response, though!
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi Dan,
We won't be able to investigate every issue that your client may have encountered because a lot of times it has to do with particular client side computer environments (for example, malwares can cause all sort of problems). But if you can isolate the problem and reproduce it consistently, we will be happy to take a look in your environment remotely.
Thanks
|
|