Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

...to allow anonymous access to eo_web.ashx Options
dllhell
Posted: Monday, November 10, 2008 7:13:35 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/21/2008
Posts: 25
Hello,

I have uploaded my application to remote server and i gt this msg:

EO.Web Controls uses eo_web.ashx to render JavaScript files. However the file has been denied access due to your website's permission settings. This often occurs when the site requires login and denies anonymous access to all pages except for a few landing/login pages. When these pages use EO.Web controls, the control can stop function because access to eo_web.ashx is also been denied. Please modify your web.config's authorization section to allow anonymous access to eo_web.ashx.

What should I write into web.config exactly?
eo_support
Posted: Monday, November 10, 2008 7:17:51 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
dllhell
Posted: Monday, November 10, 2008 7:19:05 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/21/2008
Posts: 25
woooow... you are fast...

thanks :)
dllhell
Posted: Monday, November 10, 2008 8:44:19 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/21/2008
Posts: 25
hmmm... me again...

This eo_web.ashx is placed into root of my application and

<location path="eo_web.ashx">
<system.web>
<authorization>
<allow users="*" />
</authorization>
</system.web>
</location>

is placed right upon <system.web>, dotnet 2.0 is in use. Error is still persistent.
Do you have any other clue?
eo_support
Posted: Monday, November 10, 2008 12:13:08 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

Try to access the page directly from your browser. For example, if one of your page is:

http://www.yoursite.com/Page1.aspx

You can try:

http://www.yoursite.com/eo_web.aspx

And see what error message you get.

Thanks!
dllhell
Posted: Monday, November 10, 2008 2:33:47 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/21/2008
Posts: 25
I have presume that you mentioned
http://www.yoursite.com/eo_web.ashx
instead of
http://www.yoursite.com/eo_web.aspx

I get a blank page, no error msgs.


If you realy mentioned eo_web.aspx, then i get err msg:

The resource cannot be found.
Description: HTTP 404. The resource you are looking for (or one of its dependencies) could have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable. Please review the following URL and make sure that it is spelled correctly.

Requested URL: /eo_web.aspx

would you like to see my web.config?
eo_support
Posted: Monday, November 10, 2008 3:22:51 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Yes. I meant eo_web.ashx. If you are getting an empty page, then the permission should be fine. We use the following code to check permission:

Code: C#
System.Web.Security.UrlAuthorizationModule.CheckUrlAccessForPrincipal(
    handlerPath, HttpContext.Current.User, "GET");


Where "hanlderPath" is the virtual path for eo_web.ashx, usually it should be "~/eo_web.ashx" (or ~/YourAppName/eo_web.ashx" in case the page is under an application). You can also explicitly configure the location of this file by including the following section in your web.config:

Code: HTML/ASPX
<appSettings>
    <add key="eo_HandlerLocation" value="~/some_dir" />
</appSettings>


Note you may already have the appSettings block, in which case you should only add the "add" element instead of adding a duplicate appSettings block. You may want to give that a try and also try to call the above code manually to see whether it would work.

Thanks
dllhell
Posted: Tuesday, November 11, 2008 12:09:11 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/21/2008
Posts: 25
Please, don't loose your patient I really have to resolve this problem :))

web.config is placed in the same path as eo_web.aspx so I have value empty

<appSettings>
<add key="eo_HandlerLocation" value="" />
</appSettings>

same result

Then I moved eo_web.asmx into bin folder and changes section into

<appSettings>
<add key="eo_HandlerLocation" value="~/bin" />
or
<add key="eo_HandlerLocation" value="/bin" />
</appSettings>

same result

then i removed eo_web.ashx from bin but leave config unchanged just to see will be expecting error rised and yes:

eo_web.ashx does not exist at the location specified by configuration setting entry eo_HandlerLocation.
Would you like to se my web.config?
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, November 11, 2008 5:24:49 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

We will need to see your machine. :) We can setup an online meeting to take a look on your machine and see if that reveals anything. Please let us know if that would OK for you.

Thanks
dllhell
Posted: Tuesday, November 11, 2008 6:46:53 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/21/2008
Posts: 25
I can give you only FTP access on this domain.
On my machine your controls working perfectly.
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, November 11, 2008 6:54:43 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Sure. That will do. Please send the FTP access to us via private message.

Thanks!
dllhell
Posted: Tuesday, November 11, 2008 9:09:36 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/21/2008
Posts: 25
I send you datas, pls let me know if you managed something...
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, November 11, 2008 12:14:40 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

This is just to let you know that we have looked into the issue and it is a problem on our side regarding partial trust (your server is running under partial trust). We are correcting this issue with a new build and hopefully you can have it today.

Thanks!
dllhell
Posted: Tuesday, November 11, 2008 2:05:39 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/21/2008
Posts: 25
Alright, just let me know to whom I need to send a flowers and chocolate after all of this.
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, November 11, 2008 4:27:30 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

We have posted the new build. Please see your private message for download location. And thanks for the flowers and chocolate!

Thanks
dllhell
Posted: Tuesday, November 11, 2008 11:28:21 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/21/2008
Posts: 25
It works! It works!

Thank you my saviours! Redeemers!

That about chocolate wans't a joke.
pt100
Posted: Friday, March 20, 2009 3:49:46 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 3/20/2009
Posts: 9
Hello!

I just downloaded your controls. I started my testing with ProgressBar. It renders ok on the page, but when I try to set the value, the setValue method is not found by my javascript code.

At a breakpoint in the client side code, I look at the ProgressBar object, and it has lots of properties, methods and events but nothing specific to the progress bar. It looks more like a generic base control, from which a specific control could be derived.

I then browsed this support forum, and I think this might be an eo_web.ashx related issue.
I checked that eo_web.ashx is present and can be browsed (renders a blank page).

Do you have any idea what's going on? Would it be worthwhile to test the build mentioned in this thread? Or is it already incorporated in the current distribution version (downloaded today)?

Regards,
Pentti
eo_support
Posted: Friday, March 20, 2009 3:57:29 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

Can you post your code that calls setValue?

Thanks!
pt100
Posted: Friday, March 20, 2009 4:18:40 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 3/20/2009
Posts: 9
Well that was quick!

I am using the ProgressBar in a user control.

control ascx:

<eo:ProgressBar ID="TimerProgressBar" runat="server" BackgroundImage="00060301"
BackgroundImageLeft="00060302" BackgroundImageRight="00060303"
ControlSkinID="None" IndicatorImage="00060304" ShowPercentage="True" Value="30"
Width="350px" Height="25px">
</eo:ProgressBar>

control codebehind:

string clientStartupScript = string.Format("var TimerProgressBar = {0};", TimerProgressBar.ClientID); // Registers the runtime ID since we are in a user control
Page.ClientScript.RegisterStartupScript(this.GetType(), "ClientStartup", clientStartupScript, true);

clientside:

// This fails - object "TimerProgressBar" does not contain method "setValue"
function timerUpdate() {
TimerProgressBar.setValue(100 - timerCounter / TimeoutValue);
}

Please let me know if you need something more!
eo_support
Posted: Friday, March 20, 2009 4:26:29 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

There are two problems in your code:

1. You should call eo_GetObject, rather than use the ID of the control directly to reference the client side ProgressBar control. See this topic for more details:

http://doc.essentialobjects.com/library/1/clientapi_howto.aspx

2. You are calling setValue to soon. The ProgressBar may has not been fulled loaded yet. To ensure the control is loaded, move your code to the control's ClientSideOnLoad handler:

http://doc.essentialobjects.com/library/1/eo.web.control.clientsideonload.aspx

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.