|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 8/11/2015 Posts: 19
|
Looks like the web browser cache is stored per version. Therefore, when we update to a new version the user loses all of their cache.
C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Local\Temp\eo.webbrowser.cache.xxxxxxxx
Is there a way around this? Should we specify the cache location to a generic location?
C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Local\Temp\eo.webbrowser.cache
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,218
|
Hi,
You can do that by specifically setting EO.WebBrowser.Runtime.CachePath to a fixed value. However the reason that we use version specific cache path by default is that the Chromium browser engine MAY change cache file format between versions so in those cases, you may still lose the cache.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 8/11/2015 Posts: 19
|
Thanks. Once a new version is installed how do we move cache from the old location to the new location? We have settings stored in local storage that we do not want to lose when we deploy an update.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,218
|
You would just keep using the same folder in that case --- and in case the format changes, you MAY lose them. The Chromium browser engine MAY decide to still be able to read old format when the format changes, but there is no guarantee for the future.
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 8/11/2015 Posts: 19
|
Understood that we could use the existing path. We wanted to move to a path that was generic of a version number and it wasn't clear how to use a new path, yet read the old path to get the data from the previous version and copy it to the new path.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,218
|
I am not sure if I understood you correctly. There is no such thing as "old path" or "new path". If you set EO.WebBrowser.Runtime.CachePath to a fixed value, then whatever value you set is the path. That's the only thing that's available to you. There is nothing that would allow you to read the cache, move or copy it. There is one folder that contains everything and that's it.
|
|