Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

EO Webrowser WPF crashes on Startup Options
Paul T
Posted: Tuesday, February 26, 2019 11:43:58 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/26/2019
Posts: 2
Hi There

I have been looking at various WPF Browsers that can be used in a .net app I am developing, however I have come across a problem when trying to use a trial of the EO WebBrowser in a testing WPF app. I have followed the example and created a brand new WPF application in VS 2017, and then used NuGet to add reference to EO.WebBrowser.Wpf (v19.0.56 - which in turn added references for EO.Base, EO.WebBrowser, EO.WebEngine). I then created the very simple example

<eo:WebControl>
<eo:WebControl.WebView>
<eo:WebView Url="www.google.co.uk" />
</eo:WebControl.WebView>
</eo:WebControl>

after adding the EO namespace in the Window.xaml

If I try and run this on my development machine the application crashes on startup. There is no exception thrown that I can capture. I thought it was being thrown during InitializeComponent() but that is not the case. The Window does appear on screen for a spilt second but then the application closes itself.

If I copy the project to another computer and load into VS 2017 and run it - it works fine and the application opens and displays the Google webpage - if I copy just the 'debug' build onto yet another computer - it is also fine. However it will not load on my machine.

The difference I notice is that on the other machines, I am shown a popup about requiring a licence in the taskbar / notification area (just above the clock) - mine doesn't get to this point. The application closes before this is displayed so I think it is something in the code that displays this prompt that is crashing. I thought it might be that I have a second monitor on my machine - so I disconnected that and no improvement. I also work in 'dark' colour mode, so I switched myself back to 'light' colour mode in Windows - again no improvement.

I know that eventually, if we can get this to work, we will purchase a licence and the popup will no longer be displayed - but if the issue is occurring before it even gets to that point I can't be assured that I'll be able to develop on my machine going forward even with a licence.

I was going to try and capture the crash reports as I have seen in other posts - but I don't even get to that point in the code where that can be called as the app has already crashed.

Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated

Cheers
Paul
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, February 26, 2019 11:52:55 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,221
Hi,

Please try to enable EO worker process and see if it works for you:

https://www.essentialobjects.com/doc/common/eowp.aspx

Thanks!
Paul T
Posted: Tuesday, February 26, 2019 12:07:52 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 2/26/2019
Posts: 2
Hi There

That has worked on my machine - after reading that info, I disabled my antivirus for a few minutes and no longer have the issue - now will need to work out how to fix this for a ClickOnce deployment as seems I will need to include this EXE file in the deployment if we go ahead with your solution

Cheers
Paul
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, February 26, 2019 3:31:23 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,221
Hi,

We do have an option that allows the file to be created by code --- I am not sure if that works for your scenario. You will need to call this function instead:

https://www.essentialobjects.com/doc/eo.base.runtime.initworkerprocessexecutable.aspx

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.