|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 1/25/2017 Posts: 18
|
Hello, We are using EO.WebBrowser version 18.0.70.0. We don't have any problems in test environment but in production sometimes sites are opened without css and js. We can enter debug UI console (shortcut) and there is errors in console: Quote:Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CACHE_READ_FAILURE Do you have any idea why this could happen? Is this some bug and it is fixed in latest version? I can't reproduce it locally but issue occurs from time to time in production. I added method to clear cache on app start to be sure that old (inaccessible?) cached files will be deleted but I'm not sure if this will help. Quote:EO.WebEngine.Engine.CleanUpCacheFolders(EO.WebEngine.CacheFolderCleanUpPolicy.AllVersions); Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,221
|
We are not exactly sure about what triggers this and it appears to be an issue experienced by many Google Chrome users as well. Due to the enormous size and complexity of the Chromium project, we generally do not investigate an issue that also occurs in Google Chrome. The issue may have been fixed in the latest Chromium codebase, so you can try again when we re-sync to Chromium's code base next time (usually occurs around year end) and see if it resolves the issue for you. Sorry about it!
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 1/25/2017 Posts: 18
|
Thanks for reply. Some users could fix it after enabling chrome://flags/#enable-simple-cache-backend. Can I modifi this flag in EO.WebBrowser?
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,221
|
Hi, Because EO.WebBrowser does not support chrome://flags Url, there is no way to modify this flag the same way as in Google Chrome. The closest to chrome://flags is this property: https://www.essentialobjects.com/doc/eo.webengine.engineoptions.extracommandlineargs.aspxHowever not every flag has a corresponding command line switch and as Chromium evolves over time, new switches are being added and old switches may no longer function. A corresponding command line switch for this flag does exist and the switch name is "use-simple-cache-backend=on". So you can try that and see if it works for you. Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 12/10/2014 Posts: 137
|
Hello,
any feedback using this flag because I face the same problem.
I use the ConsoleMessage event to detect the cache failure and for example force cache reload :
void webViewEO_ConsoleMessage(object sender, ConsoleMessageEventArgs e){ if (e.Type == ConsoleMessageType.Network && e.Message.Contains("ERR_CACHE_READ_FAILURE")) { this.webViewEO.StopLoad(); this.webViewEO.Reload(true); //force reload cache } }
Regards
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 1/25/2017 Posts: 18
|
Hi, I don't have machine with this issue so I can't confirm this method. Client has this issue from time to time. I added this line to app start. I hope that I did that properly. Also this flag can disappear in fearture version of the Chrome so I'm not sure if it's good option to depend on it. Quote:EO.WebEngine.EngineOptions.Default.ExtraCommandLineArgs = "--use-simple-cache-backend=on"; I found this description about "simple cache backend". So I'm not sure why this can help with inaccessible cache. But hard to say... Quote:This is a new caching backend for Chrome which aims to reduce the amount of time it takes to re-validate cached files in your browser. For Windows this can add up to about 14ms per request on average, and this new caching backend aims to remove this latency. By default "Simple Cache for HTTP" is disabled, however you can enable this by pasting the flag below into Chrome. @Eurice your solution looks also interesting. Thanks! I will be appriciated if somebody check this flag with live environment and confirm solution. Best regards
|
|