Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

Repeating elements with just border disappear Options
nikfe
Posted: Wednesday, March 21, 2018 12:41:00 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 5/25/2015
Posts: 21
Replicated with web demo conversion.

To get expected result please uncomment background-color rule from css.
Shortly it should produce 4 pages of "empty header" with black line in practice. However if no background-color is not defined only single element/page will be rendered.

Code: HTML/ASPX
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
    <head>
        <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8">
        <style type="text/css">
            .container {
                height: 50px;
                border-bottom: 2px solid black;
                /*background-color: #fff; UCOMMENT TO WORK-AROUND*/
                page-break-after: always;
            }
        </style>
    </head>
    <body>
        <div class="container"></div>
        <div class="container"></div>
        <div class="container"></div>
        <div class="container"></div>
    </body>
</html>


Edit: Part B
In some other cases even that workaround is not enough. If user wants to add header for example pages: 2 and 4 I can generate example html like this:
Code: HTML/ASPX
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
    <head>
        <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8">
        <style type="text/css">
            .container {
                height: 50px;
                background-color: #fff;
                page-break-after: always;
            }
        </style>
    </head>
    <body>
        <div class="container"></div>
        <div class="container">a</div>
        <div class="container"></div>
        <div class="container">b</div>
        <div class="container"></div>
    </body>
</html>


But empty pages are now dropped from start and from the end so that "a" is on page 1, "b" is on page 3 and there is total of pages 3 instead of 5. How ever this middle page is rendered "correctly".

So: how to _RELIABLY_ wrap content to specific pages without doing per page rendering (which is unacceptable slow)? Well inserting always something like <span style="color:white;">.</span> works...

Currently this feels like that you are doing enormous work to heuristically guess what I am doing and "fix" my content while I trying to guess your heuristic and invent tricks to prevent you doing so. So it more like fighting against each other rather than working together what it should be. I understand place of these 'corrections' but could there be at least some opt-out mechanism?
eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, March 21, 2018 4:37:03 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,258
Hi,

We have looked into this issue and has confirmed it to be a bug on our end. The issue has to do with the way we detect empty pages --- and in this case we incorrectly concluded a page with a single black line as empty.

The easiest workaround for this problem is to change your background color from black to "near black". For example, instead of using "black" as border color, you can use "#010101" as border color. The difference between the pure black and this near black is non distinguishable form human eyes, but is enough to avoid this problem.

In the mean time we will try to address this on our end and hopefully we will address this issue in our next build.

Thanks!
eo_support
Posted: Monday, April 2, 2018 1:51:06 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,258
Hi,

This is just to let you know that we have posted a new build that should address this issue. You can download the new build from our download page. Please take a look and let us now how it goes.

Thanks!
nikfe
Posted: Tuesday, April 3, 2018 6:27:19 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 5/25/2015
Posts: 21
Hello

Our banners with just a border seems to work nicely now without additional workarounds.

As feedback: There are still some crafting required when working banners when content is based on user content. Example if page have single empty element it work differently when it's 5px VS 15px high. But this is something what we can live with.

But clear bug seems to be fixed so we are going to right direction. Thanks!
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, April 3, 2018 8:20:56 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,258
Glad to hear that the issue is fixed and thank you very much for the feedback. If you run into any other problems please feel free to let us know.


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.