Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

EO.Web crashes on some workstation Options
Christian Porzio
Posted: Thursday, October 6, 2016 12:10:21 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/4/2016
Posts: 104
Hi,

We are evaluating EO.Web but we encountered a shop stopper on some workstations where our Web wrapper is crashing when trying to render the WebView.

This is very odd, when I run the application from Visual Studio 2015, it runs fine, but if I attempt to launch it from command prompt or from file Explorer, the app just terminates when attempting to render the webView. This problem surfaces only on one some specific configuration: Win7 Enterprise, x64. These workstations have a customized developer profile but since they are also our targeted customers, it must work on their sets.

I have also tried the approach using only the WebView - see code below and when I attach the application to the debugger after it has been started from Explorer, the app crashes the same way, and although I have selected to break the program for all exceptions, Visual Studio does not pick up any error or exception, I can only see the thread terminated with return code -1, so something failed but I have no clue what it can be.

I wonder if this might come from the small utility that shows the temporary license on the bottom right, that would sgnal the EO component to exit because it could not verify the license - I have no evidence for this, just a wild guess.

So if any one has any idea what I could do to at least collect some more clues because at this moment as long as we don't have a fix or clear explanation about this situation, we will not purchase a license.

My code:
Sample Web App
[MainWindow.xaml
Code: XML
<Window x:Class="Test.MainWindow"
        xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml/presentation"
        xmlns:x="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml"
        xmlns:eo="http://schemas.essentialobjects.com/wpf/"
        Title="MainWindow" Height="250" Width="350">
<eo:WebControl>
    <eo:WebControl.WebView>
        <eo:WebView Url="www.google.com">
        </eo:WebView>
    </eo:WebControl.WebView>
</eo:WebControl>


WebView only
[MainWindow.xaml
Code: XML
<Window x:Name="mainWin" x:Class="WebViewExample.MainWindow"
        xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml/presentation"
        xmlns:x="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml"
        xmlns:d="http://schemas.microsoft.com/expression/blend/2008"
        xmlns:mc="http://schemas.openxmlformats.org/markup-compatibility/2006"
        xmlns:local="clr-namespace:WebViewExample"
        mc:Ignorable="d"
        Title="MainWindow" Height="350" Width="525" Loaded="mainWin_Loaded">

</Window>


MainWindow.cs
Code: C#
using EO.WebBrowser;
using System;
using System.Windows;
using System.Windows.Interop;

namespace WebViewExample
{
    /// &lt;summary&gt;
    /// Interaction logic for MainWindow.xaml
    /// &lt;/summary&gt;
    /// 
    public partial class MainWindow : Window
    {
        private WebView m_WebView = new WebView();
        private IntPtr _handle;
        public MainWindow()
        {
            InitializeComponent();
        }

        private void mainWin_Loaded(object sender, RoutedEventArgs e)
        {
            WindowInteropHelper h = new WindowInteropHelper(mainWin);
            _handle = h.Handle;
            m_WebView.Create(_handle);
            m_WebView.Url = "www.google.com";
        }
    }
}
Christian Porzio
Posted: Friday, October 7, 2016 11:38:44 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/4/2016
Posts: 104
Alright actually I think I figured it out - by reading some other posts on this forum... Our anti-virus is blocking my executable.

I cannot even disable the anti-virus, this is a corporate configuration and would require privileges beyond my already high user profile.

So the question I have now: is there anything we can/should do to look like a legitimate executable?

My anti-virus seems to be complaining about ZwWriteVirtualMemory

There must be a way to look like legit because at least when running from Visual Studio, I do not have this issue.

Thank you for any of your suggestions.
eo_support
Posted: Friday, October 7, 2016 11:44:40 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,229
Christian Porzio wrote:
There must be a way to look like legit because at least when running from Visual Studio, I do not have this issue.


Thank you very much for the update. We have replied your email. The reason that it runs fine from Visual Studio is not because this is how to make it looks legitimate, it's because the AntiVirus program does not want you to figure out what it is doing using a debugger. So it just stay quite not doing anything when it sees a debugger is attached. We have suggested a way in our email, you can try that and see if it works, if that still does not work, we will investigate further to see if we can find a workaround.


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.