|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 8/4/2007 Posts: 42
|
I've moved the spellchecker to a test server from my development machine and started getting an error message when I try to spellcheck.
Code: HTML/ASPX
Client Side Debug message
Spellchecker 'control name' has failed due to a server or network problem
I've put in the dictionary as eo_dict. The web Config has <add key="eo_DictLocation" value="~/eo_dict"></add> in the appSettings. I've checked permissions on the eo_dict directory and they are the same as the development machine. Got any ideas?
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
We are not sure what caused that. Do you have the page online so that we can take a look?
Thanks
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 8/4/2007 Posts: 42
|
eo_support wrote:Hi,
We are not sure what caused that. Do you have the page online so that we can take a look?
Thanks I've set you up a test page that demonstrates it. 1. Got to http://bar.baen.com2. Login using ID: eo Pwd: eosupport 3. change the url to http://bar.baen.com/post2.aspxThis should give you an editor page. It sometimes gives a 500 error Error Code: 500 Internal Server Error. The HTTP request includes a non-supported header. Contact your ISA Server administrator. (12156) Nothing appears in any of the event logs Other times it's the error given above.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
The problem appears to have to do with gzip compression. Please check whether you have that enabled on your server side. IE is known to have problems with gzip compression.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 8/4/2007 Posts: 42
|
eo_support wrote:Hi,
The problem appears to have to do with gzip compression. Please check whether you have that enabled on your server side. IE is known to have problems with gzip compression.
Thanks! If it was an IE specific problem then it should work OK on FireFox etc. On those browsers it just freezes on the Please Wait and never comes back. I did some tracing. I put a single "1" character in the editor to spellcheck.The callback being made is: /eo_web.ashx?id=0A24C87A-FA9D-457c-B132-933329D55E58 the data sent is options=scaw&maxsug=10&text=Ajph&lang=en-US On the server side I get a WinSock error 10054 Connection reset by peer when the data is flushed back to the browser, which implies that the browser side is forcible resetting the connection before the data can be sent back.
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 8/4/2007 Posts: 42
|
More and further. It turns out the Error 500 above was a firewal side effect instead of the primary problem. There's a bug in ISA that causes that error message under some circumstances.
If I access the page outside of the firewall I just get the original eo Client error.
Client Side Debug message Spellchecker 'control name' has failed due to a server or network problem
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Arnold Bailey wrote:I did some tracing. I put a single "1" character in the editor to spellcheck.The callback being made is:
/eo_web.ashx?id=0A24C87A-FA9D-457c-B132-933329D55E58
the data sent is
options=scaw&maxsug=10&text=Ajph&lang=en-US
On the server side I get a WinSock error 10054 Connection reset by peer when the data is flushed back to the browser, which implies that the browser side is forcible resetting the connection before the data can be sent back.
We did the tracing as well and we see something else. We checked the response package and noticed the package contents, which supposes to be plain xml text (generated by our server side code), is some sort of binary chunks. The ContentEncoding header element is gzip, instead of regular text/xml as we outputted. Thus it is apparent that something in between our server side code and the client modified the package. JavaScript has no control over the underlying HTTP connection. All it does is to send a HTTP request to the server. Whether or when to open/close a connection is totally up to the browser. So the 10054 error is definitely caused by something else.
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 8/4/2007 Posts: 42
|
Thank you. That was a good hint. I turned off gzip specifically for text/xml and it took off and works fine now. Apparently when the javascript received the zipped response it gave up and disconnected when it culdn't parse it.
|
|