Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

CallbackPanel failed due to server side exception Options
pwellar
Posted: Thursday, July 10, 2008 3:21:53 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 5/26/2008
Posts: 22
Hi,

It looks like this error has returned.

Here is the exact message I am getting:

EO.Web.Controls Client Side Debug Message:

EO.Web control 'CallbackPanel4' error message (set ClientSideOnError to handle this error); The callback on 'CallBackPanel4' has failed due to a server side exception. Please check the server side code.

You can turn off this message by setting EO.Web.Runtime.DebugLevel to 0 (Not recommended for debug build)

When I press Ok the box just dissapears, running IE 7.0



The way I have been able to reproduce this is to click on the Heath Authority and Health Service Delivery Area back and forth and sometimes click on the values in the List View below.

Thanks,
Paul
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, July 10, 2008 3:30:35 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,193
Hi,

We looked at your page and noticed you have mis-matched "{" and "}" in your on_checkstate_changing function. That will mess up everything.

You will want to clear "Disable JavaScript debugging" in your IE option dialog so that you will be able to see those errors. Try to clear all the JavaScript errors and then see if it helps.

Thanks
pwellar
Posted: Thursday, July 10, 2008 3:49:15 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 5/26/2008
Posts: 22
Hi,

I have cleared that error but the problem still comes up. Any other ideas?

Also note that this can happen on any of the Callback's. I have 4 of them on the page.

THanks,
Paul
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, July 10, 2008 4:18:35 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,193
Hi,

We tried it for quite a while and we do not see any errors. In fact we have never see this error ever since you reported this issue.

It's unlikely that our CallbackPanel would just randomly through out this error message as it has been working for you for quite a while. There are only two cases that can cause this error:

1. Server side code error. If you run your code in a debugger, you can track your server side code error by go to your Visual Studio -> Debug -> CLR Exception -> Break into the debugger; If you do not run a debugger, you can track your server side code error with an global application's error handler;

2. Client side JavaScript code error. By default the CallbackPanel uses a try catch block to protect the code that it runs. you can set the CallbackPanel's SafeGuardUpdate to false. Once SafeGuardUpdate is false and a client side JavaScript error occurs, you will be able to see it with a debugger;

If you continue to have problem, you may want to try it without a CallbackPanel first. Our belief is that the CallbackPanel is not the problem here. It's just the one that notifies you the problem. If you believe it indeed has to do with the CallbackPanel, we will need reproducing steps in order to look into it as it's impossible to troubleshoot a problem without seeing it.

Thanks
pwellar
Posted: Thursday, July 10, 2008 4:28:37 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 5/26/2008
Posts: 22
I have a really hard time believing that this is a server side error. I just reproduced it once again on a completely different PC. I did random clicking between the Hospitalizations and Injury and the Health Authority and Health Delivery Service Area. Just clicked about 10 times, just click,click,click and it worked. My Callbacks are all based upon just setting visible to true and false. I will try the Client Side JavaScript code error to try and debug it.
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, July 10, 2008 4:33:00 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,193
While the error message says that, as explained by my previous post, both server and client side error can cause this error message (it's a bit confusing). In your case it sounds more like a client side error because with a true server side error it would have shown you the detailed error message when you click OK.
pwellar
Posted: Thursday, July 10, 2008 4:35:06 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 5/26/2008
Posts: 22
I have also noticed that if I click on Injry deaths then use my keyboard to left/right arrow quickly. It breaks the callback panel completely and it will never update again. Is this normal operation? As this doesn't happen on my dev box? 2 minutes after going back and forth 30 times I got that message to eventually popup.
pwellar
Posted: Thursday, July 10, 2008 4:42:24 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 5/26/2008
Posts: 22
I changed the SafeGuardUpdate to false and got the error to reappear. I clicked OK and nothing happened, couldn't debug anything. Does that mean its not a client side error then? Also it took about 5 minutes before it appeared this time after going back and fourth about 100 times quickly.
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, July 10, 2008 5:41:08 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,193
We tried a long time and we couldn't see any errors, so we really do not know what's causing it for sure. However theoretically this could trigger a problem because you are trying submitting callbacks so intense that two situations could happen:

1. A new request is submitted before the old one is even processed. Our Callback does perform many checking but something might have been missed;
2. The server gave up and gives you an error code (for example, internal server error);

To avoid the first situation, you can try to set the CallbackPanel's AutoDisableContent to true. That should add another layer of protection; There second one obviously is out of our hands, it happens when it happens. In reality, it's very rare that people will try to click it back and forth very quickly for 100 times for 5 minutes.

In the mean time, we will look into the callback to see if we can give more precise error messages. The current error message alerts an error, but the message is neither accurate nor helpful. So we will see what we can do with that.

Thanks
pwellar
Posted: Thursday, July 10, 2008 11:21:23 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 5/26/2008
Posts: 22
Okay changing the AutoDisableContent to true has eliminated the problem. So it must of been a timiing issue. Anyways thanks for your help, i knew it had to be something simple.

-Paul
eo_support
Posted: Friday, July 11, 2008 7:13:01 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,193
Hi Paul,

Glad to hear it's resolved. Thank you very much for the update!

Thanks


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.