|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 1/12/2015 Posts: 81
|
I'm trying to access the following URL: https://www.metro.ca/enIt loads properly in Chrome but in the EO browser it's getting a CAPTCHA. When I run the EO browser through a Fiddler, it's not getting the CAPTCHA. This leads me to believe that the issue is due to the SSL certificates. However, I don't see any CertificateError events being raised.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,217
|
Hi,
This is normal. Since the CAPTCHA is from Google and Chrome is from Google as well, so it is possible but Chrome gets some special treatment. However you can safely assume that the same CAPTCHA will show up in Chrome sometimes as well because there would be no purpose for a CAPTCHA at all if it never shows.
This should not have anything to do with server certificate.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 1/12/2015 Posts: 81
|
When I use EO browser and turn off Fiddler, I get the CAPTCHA. But when I turn on the Fiddler it doesn't get the CAPTCHA. I've also tried another internal proxy aside from Fiddler and it is also not getting CAPTCHA. There is no difference in headers being sent to the server. The only difference is how the server certificate is being handled. It has nothing to do with Chrome itself. I was just pointing out that in Chrome, it's working without any proxy at all.
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 1/12/2015 Posts: 81
|
Also, the CAPTCHA is not reCAPTCHA, it's hCAPTCHA which is not Google. So Chrome would probably not get any special treatment.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,217
|
Hi,
We opened the Url you provided here both in Google Chrome and our TabbedBrowser sample, and then click "Sign In" icon at the top, we see reCAPTCHA in both cases. There isn't much of a "handling" on server certificate on our side. The only thing you can do is to ignore the server certificate error in case an error occurs, which is equivalent of clicking "Proceed" button when Chrome displays you a warning page when it detects the certificate is invalid. However in this case your server's certificate is in fact valid, so it should not trigger a certificate error at all unless you have an something in the middle that is not trusted (such as proxy server or Fiddler).
We won't investigate just because a CAPTCHA showed up as it should. Or just because somehow it showed up in a different pattern in Chrome. If you wish us to investigate further, you must isolate the problem into something very specific, such as a JavaScript function should behave this way but it behaved that way. Once you have that you can send a test project to us (I believe you already have the instructions) along with your order number and we will be happy to investigate further.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,217
|
Hi,
We received your test project but we do not see anything particular. We also tested your Url in Google Chrome and we received the same catchall page as well.
You should not rely on us to analyze a page's behavior for you. A capcha supposes to show sometimes and we are not in a position to analyze the page and tell you exactly based on what condition/criteria it shows or not. This is the same as we will not investigate if there is an error in a page's JavaScript code. You will need to analyze and debug such issues yourself. We will investigate only after you have analyzed the page on your end and can narrow down to very specific feature/calls that clearly not working as expected.
Thanks
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 1/12/2015 Posts: 81
|
Thank you for your prompt response.
I urge you to please re-read my issue and use my code that I provided to assist you in simulating the issue. The issue is NOT related to the captcha page at all. The issue is that when I call the first url, and then the 2nd, there is supposed to be an intermeadiate page showing that CloudFlare is checking the browser, and its not showing. It DOES show in your tabbed browser, it does NOT show in our sample code. All we are doing is using the line wb.LoadUrl('http://whatever') twice, and we SHOULD see the CloudFlare page show up in the middle, and its not showing. There is nothing for us to debug, its 2 lines of code. Something is NOT happening in code, that IS happening on your tabbed demo app, and we do not know what that is. We gave you a good simulation for you to see that, and we feel you are jumping the gun here and not truly comparing the output of your tabbed demo app to the code we gave you. Please help, there are no lines of code for us to troubleshoot.
We further see that the minute we click the button to go to the 2nd url, the site returns a 403 error. However, if we run Telerik Fiddler allowing all traffic to flow through it, and perform the very same steps, the site returns a 503 error and redirects to the correct CloudFlare page. Something is stopping this page from loading and we really would appreciate your assistance to help figure out what it is. Again, we don't care about the captcha page, we want that. We just want the browser to be correctly verified via CloudFlare and then continue.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,217
|
You need to understand that you are responsible to troubleshoot your own page. We do not troubleshoot specific behavior of your web page just because somehow it does not work the way you expected or it works slightly different in a browser.
There are a number of things that claimed are not necessarily true:
1. Your original post claims EO.WebBrowser is getting CAPCHA as the wrong behavior. This is obviously not true as there is no point to have CAPCHA if it is never shown. Google Chrome gets CAPCHA on the same page sometimes too;
2. After we pointed that out you shifted your argument to the CloudFlare page and claimed that you should see the CloudFlare page. This is also false. We have observed that in Google Chrome sometimes it does not show this page either;
3. You claimed your sample app does not show CloudFlare page. That is not correct either. Your sample project does show CloudFlare page sometimes;
It simply appears to us that you wanted the page to work in a certain way but it works differently, so you are just claiming that however it's currently working is wrong and wanted us to find out why for you. We do NOT do that for our customers.
I hope this makes our position clear enough to you. This issue is now closed.
On a separate note, we did see that you have "throw new NotImplementedException();" in your CertificateError and NeedClientCertficate event handler. You should not do that as this will cause the WebView to crash and close on these exceptions. However during our test we did not see any impact on your specific issue as we do not see any certificate issues with your case, thus neither event handler were hit.
|
|