Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

Issues with eLearning courses (LMS) (SC0RM) Options
penright
Posted: Tuesday, July 14, 2020 12:56:45 PM

Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/30/2017
Posts: 43
Setting the stage...
We have been using EO for a Kiosk type application for a few years now. One of the Kiosks is for eLearning and other than Flash Player issue at the start, it has been working ok. To fix the Flash Player, they started using HTML5 player. Last Monday we rolled out 20.1.88.0 and it looked like it was working then, but the next day the video part was not playing. It does however work in Chrome. I still escalated the issue thorough the training course vendor. They say they did not change anything on their side. Right now all the content we have access to is password-protected until we can figure out some sort of "public" URL we can reproduce it for the community. I am posting the question in case someone else has had the same experience. Also, it may take some dialog to communicate the issue.

Details...
Still trying to understand the eLearning terminology. After some online searching, LMS (Learning Management System) is what they call the part that manages the course, student's progression, and content provider. I am not 100% sure what SCORM does, but they called it a player. After searching looks like there are different standards published over time. Looks like they are using the 1.2/2004 version.

If I learn more information, I will post it. If anyone has any thoughts let me know.

EDIT: 7/15/2020 07:24:00 CDT
_______________________________________________________________________________
I found a store that still had 2019, 19.1.11.0 to be exact, and it worked. Then I upgraded to 20.1.88.0 and it had issues.
So it is something between 19.1.11.0 and 20.1.88.0.
eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, July 15, 2020 9:20:54 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,217
Thanks for the information. Chromium engine is constantly evolving and it has over 30 million lines of code. So millions of lines code have been changed between these two versions. As such it is not practical for us to start investigating by looking into what has changed. The most effective way is if you can have a public test Url for us then we can try to reproduce the problem here, and then debug into the source code to see what we can find.
penright
Posted: Wednesday, July 15, 2020 10:26:21 AM

Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/30/2017
Posts: 43
eo_support wrote:
The most effective way is if you can have a public test Url for us then we can try to reproduce the problem here, and then debug into the source code to see what we can find.

I am working on that. Actually been working on getting a test URL for over a week now, the issue is giving a user name/password out publicly. They have created a user name/password that block access to our courses, but they are still showing. I am trying to get someone above my pay grade to say it is ok to post it. :-) I wish I could find an already public URL to test with.


A couple of more questions for context...

#1
Would it be safe to say it is not a missing plugin if EO V19 works and EO V20 does not?

#2
Looks like 20.1.88 uses Chrome/81.0.4044.113 Safari/537.36. If I run Chrome it is Version 83.0.4103.116 (Official Build) (64-bit) and it works as expected. So could something have been fixed in a new version of Chrome? Is there a way to test it or do you have to do something as part of the build? I guess 20.1.88 is the latest?

penright
Posted: Wednesday, July 15, 2020 11:58:11 AM

Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/30/2017
Posts: 43
eo_support wrote:
public test Url for us then we can try to reproduce the problem here, and then debug into the source code to see what we can find.


You can now compare Chrome to EO...
eLearning has come through for us. Here is an URL and the username/password to log into. After logging in, in the black toolbar across the top you will see "skillsoft", "The Library", "Learning Plan", and "Community". The one you want is "Learning Plan" If you try any of the courses on that first page, they use flash which we do not use.
Step 1 Login from the main URL.
Step 2 Enter in Name & Password
Step 3 Click on "Learning Plan"
Step 4 Click on the black button "Launch" on either of the two courses.
Note: Depending on how far you let the course go if you get a question of "Start from where you left off" answer "NO" and the crouse will start over. To be clear, when you click on the "video arrow" in the EO chromium the video will not play, but Chrome will.

[Login removed by admin]

eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, July 15, 2020 1:41:28 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,217
Hi,

We have removed the login information from your post. In the future please use private messages to send such information to us. The forum is public. So you should not post third party user name/password information in our forum.

Thanks!
penright
Posted: Wednesday, July 15, 2020 1:59:35 PM

Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/30/2017
Posts: 43
eo_support wrote:
Hi,

We have removed the login information from your post. In the future please use private messages to send such information to us. The forum is public. So you should not post third party user name/password information in our forum.

Thanks!

That information is ok to be public. That is the eLearning evaluation site and their generic courses, there is nothing on that is not public. That is why to took so long for me to post something, they had to create an example. :-)

In hindsight, it may be best to remove it because I could see them pulling the URL/credentials once the issue is resolved.
penright
Posted: Wednesday, July 15, 2020 4:33:15 PM

Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/30/2017
Posts: 43
Not sure if this means anything if I open the DevTools in Chrome when I click on the play button I see in the console something like ...

Quote:
VM2915:1 Uncaught (in promise) DOMException: The play() request was interrupted by a new load request. https://goo.gl/LdLk22
jquery-2.1.3.min.js:3 [Violation] 'progress' handler took 296ms
jquery-2.1.3.min.js:3 [Violation] 'playing' handler took 360ms
favicon.ico:1 GET https://library.skillport.com/favicon.ico 404 (Not Found)


When doing the same with EO, in the console stops at the "Uncaught (in promise) ..." line. I never see the "jquery-2.1.3.min.js:3 'progress' handler. What is the 'progress' handler? Is that something I need to do?








For completeness, if I expand the Uncaught (in promise) this is under it ...
Quote:
Media.SSVideo.fillPlayerObj @ VM2915:1
Media.SSVideo.play @ VM2915:1
e.playClip @ ria-desktop-min.js:36
(anonymous) @ ria-desktop-min.js:36
(anonymous) @ ria-desktop-min.js:8
(anonymous) @ ria-desktop-min.js:8
(anonymous) @ ria-desktop-min.js:8
(anonymous) @ ria-desktop-min.js:8
(anonymous) @ ria-desktop-min.js:36
setTimeout (async)
e.nextTick @ ria-desktop-min.js:8
(anonymous) @ ria-desktop-min.js:36
(anonymous) @ ria-desktop-min.js:8
(anonymous) @ ria-desktop-min.js:8
y @ ria-desktop-min.js:8
e.eachSeries @ ria-desktop-min.js:8
i @ ria-desktop-min.js:8
(anonymous) @ ria-desktop-min.js:8
e.series @ ria-desktop-min.js:8
e.prepAndPlayMediaAsync @ ria-desktop-min.js:36
e.playBtnPressed @ ria-desktop-min.js:36
Control.PlayAudioButtonCtrl.handlePlay @ ria-desktop-min.js:38
Control.PlayAudioButtonCtrl.actionPerformed @ ria-desktop-min.js:38
a.videoOverlayPlayHandler @ ria-desktop-min.js:38
Util.invokeListeners @ ria-desktop-min.js:8
(anonymous) @ ria-desktop-min.js:8
(anonymous) @ ria-desktop-min.js:38
setTimeout (async)
e.nextTick @ ria-desktop-min.js:8
a.initMediaPlayersAsync @ ria-desktop-min.js:38
k @ ria-desktop-min.js:8
(anonymous) @ ria-desktop-min.js:8
dispatch @ jquery-2.1.3.min.js:3
r.handle @ jquery-2.1.3.min.js:3

penright
Posted: Wednesday, July 15, 2020 4:57:23 PM

Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/30/2017
Posts: 43
I found these thread talking about "promise"...

https://www.essentialobjects.com/forum/postst9839_EOWebbrowser-and-Asynchronous-Javascript.aspx
https://www.essentialobjects.com/forum/postst10361_A-question-about-Promise.aspx

So could this be my issue? Unfountly the code is not mine so the suggestions of doing it differently will not work.
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, July 16, 2020 10:32:46 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,217
Hi,

We are able to play the video after we enabled proprietary video/audio codecs:

https://www.essentialobjects.com/doc/webbrowser/advanced/html5.aspx

Please let us know if this works for you.

Thanks!
penright
Posted: Thursday, July 16, 2020 11:37:06 AM

Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 10/30/2017
Posts: 43
Looks like it was the issue. We are way less than a 100,000 and we don't sell anything anyway, so we should be good on the license.
Was the lockdown/enable something Chrome did or EO to protect the license?
What I trying to guess is why it worked and then not, because the content did not change.
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, July 16, 2020 8:15:57 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,217
Hi,

It has always been this way for EO.WebBrowser (not enabled by default). It could be that they did not use proprietary video format previously but now they did.

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.