Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 5/24/2012 Posts: 45
|
Hi, we have been using eo.pdf since 2014 to convert html files into pdf files. It has been working great but suddenly yesterday afternoon we started receiving the following error: Server Error in '/' Application.
System.Exception: Times out while loading Url or HTML. Please try to increase HtmlToPdfOptions.MaxWaitTime. at EO.Pdf.Internal.dh.a(Boolean A_0, v A_1, Int32 A_2, hz A_3) at EO.Pdf.Internal.dh.a(String A_0, Boolean A_1, Boolean A_2, Int32 A_3, v A_4, String[] A_5, Byte[] A_6, hz A_7) at EO.Pdf.Internal.dh.a(HtmlToPdfOptions A_0, String A_1, Boolean A_2) at EO.Pdf.Internal.dh.b(HtmlToPdfOptions A_0, String A_1, Boolean A_2) at EO.Pdf.Internal.dh.a(bu A_0) at EO.Pdf.Internal.ll.c.a(Byte[] A_0)
Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.
Exception Details: System.Exception: System.Exception: Times out while loading Url or HTML. Please try to increase HtmlToPdfOptions.MaxWaitTime. at EO.Pdf.Internal.dh.a(Boolean A_0, v A_1, Int32 A_2, hz A_3) at EO.Pdf.Internal.dh.a(String A_0, Boolean A_1, Boolean A_2, Int32 A_3, v A_4, String[] A_5, Byte[] A_6, hz A_7) at EO.Pdf.Internal.dh.a(HtmlToPdfOptions A_0, String A_1, Boolean A_2) at EO.Pdf.Internal.dh.b(HtmlToPdfOptions A_0, String A_1, Boolean A_2) at EO.Pdf.Internal.dh.a(bu A_0) at EO.Pdf.Internal.ll.c.a(Byte[] A_0)
Source Error:
An unhandled exception was generated during the execution of the current web request. Information regarding the origin and location of the exception can be identified using the exception stack trace below.
Stack Trace:
[Exception: System.Exception: Times out while loading Url or HTML. Please try to increase HtmlToPdfOptions.MaxWaitTime. at EO.Pdf.Internal.dh.a(Boolean A_0, v A_1, Int32 A_2, hz A_3) at EO.Pdf.Internal.dh.a(String A_0, Boolean A_1, Boolean A_2, Int32 A_3, v A_4, String[] A_5, Byte[] A_6, hz A_7) at EO.Pdf.Internal.dh.a(HtmlToPdfOptions A_0, String A_1, Boolean A_2) at EO.Pdf.Internal.dh.b(HtmlToPdfOptions A_0, String A_1, Boolean A_2) at EO.Pdf.Internal.dh.a(bu A_0) at EO.Pdf.Internal.ll.c.a(Byte[] A_0)] EO.Pdf.Internal.a.b(BinaryReader A_0) +66 EO.Pdf.Internal.ll.a(a A_0) +1151 EO.Pdf.HtmlToPdfSession.a(a A_0) +82 EO.Pdf.HtmlToPdfSession.a(jv A_0, String A_1, String A_2, Int32 A_3, Int32 A_4) +96 EO.Pdf.HtmlToPdf.ConvertUrl(String url, PdfDocument doc, HtmlToPdfOptions options) +89 EO.Pdf.HtmlToPdf.ConvertUrl(String url, PdfDocument doc) +7 _2009HRDirector.frmShowForm.btnPrint_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e) +1538 System.Web.UI.WebControls.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e) +109 System.Web.UI.WebControls.Button.RaisePostBackEvent(String eventArgument) +108 System.Web.UI.WebControls.Button.System.Web.UI.IPostBackEventHandler.RaisePostBackEvent(String eventArgument) +10 System.Web.UI.Page.RaisePostBackEvent(IPostBackEventHandler sourceControl, String eventArgument) +13 System.Web.UI.Page.RaisePostBackEvent(NameValueCollection postData) +31 System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequestMain(Boolean includeStagesBeforeAsyncPoint, Boolean includeStagesAfterAsyncPoint) +3458
Version Information: Microsoft .NET Framework Version:4.0.30319; ASP.NET Version:4.6.1055.0
I tried increasing the maxwaittime which only increased the time before receiving the error.
This is happening on all browsers and seems to have come 'out of the blue'. not sure what else to try.
thanks for any light you can shed on this issue.
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,229
|
Hi, You can check whether the latest version works. During the past Windows has released Windows update that broke our product. We had to change our code in order to work around it. So this might be one of those case. You will also want to check whether you are calling ConvertUrl back to your own server. If that's the case, the most common reason for a time out error is a DNS/network configuration issue. See here for more details: https://www.essentialobjects.com/doc/web/aspxtopdf/troubleshoot.aspxThe topic is for ASPXToPDF/MVCToPDF, but it actually applies to HTML to PDF because internally both uses HTML to PDF. Thanks!
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 5/24/2012 Posts: 45
|
I can access the html file from a browser on our server. I can convert that same url from your demo but downloading the newest version does not fix the problem. I am wondering if perhaps one of the microsoft upates could have caused this?
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,229
|
We are not aware of any recent Microsoft update that would cause this problem.
Another possible reason to cause the time out error is session lock issue, which is often triggered by calling ConvertUrl to Url back to your own site. You can try to use ASPXToPDF and see if that resolves the issue for you. ASPXToPDF has special code to avoid session lock issue.
Thanks!
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 5/24/2012 Posts: 45
|
I just created a new application with no connection to the database - I used the latest eo dlls and I just have one button that creates an htm file, saves it to the htmlForms folder and converts it to pdf and displays it. Works fine on my local dev machine. I uploaded it to my server and I get the following error:
The Page Failed to Load The host name could not be resolved. To customize this message, please handle the WebView's LoadFailed event and then Set e.ErrorMessage in your event handler based on e.ErrorCode, or call e.UseDefaultMessage if you just wish to display the error message without this help message.
the htm file was created and can be viewed through the url.
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 5/24/2012 Posts: 45
|
could an expired ssl cert cause this?
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,229
|
No. This should not have anything to do with the SSL certificate. It sounds exactly like the DNS issue described in our original reply.
|
Rank: Newbie Groups: Member
Joined: 9/12/2012 Posts: 8
|
I have a similar issue. Started Dec 14th after Windows Updates were installed. I am currently trying to package a sample to repro but it works on my dev machine.
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,229
|
Tom Karafonda wrote:I have a similar issue. Started Dec 14th after Windows Updates were installed. I am currently trying to package a sample to repro but it works on my dev machine. Please update to the latest build and see if it resolves the issue for you. Our old version does not support Windows 10, and the same changes implemented by Windows 10 are being pushed down to other server OS by Microsoft as well. We had to change our code to workaround that. So this maybe the same issue that has already been resolved in the latest build.
|