Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

EO.WebBrowser WPF Adorner Layer Options
Evren
Posted: Saturday, April 18, 2015 8:07:52 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/18/2015
Posts: 2
Q1) Adorner Layer or Busy Indicators are problem with regular WPF WebBrowser. I loved your product but couldn't use WPF Busy Indicator or Adorner Layer with it. Webcontrol prevents showing the layer.

Q2) There is a little UI lock at first when the webcontrol is loaded with MainWindow for the first time. How can i fix it?
eo_support
Posted: Sunday, April 19, 2015 9:22:04 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,196
Hi,

EO.WebBrowser does not support Adorner Layer or Busy Indicators yet. Internally it uses a window handle which prevents you from overlaying other WPF control on it. To use BusyIndicator, you must use it in a separate window. We will continue to research to see how we can support them seamlessly.

The little UI lock is due to the time EO.WebBrowser spends to initialize its internal browser engine. You can try to use our multi-DLL build to decrease the intiaization time:

http://www.essentialobjects.com/doc/6/install/multi_dll_build.aspx

If that still does not help and you do not need to display the WebView immediately after your application starts, you can use the ThreadRunner class to create an invisible WebView in a background thread to initialize the browser engine:

Code: C#
ThreadRunner runner = new ThreadRunner();
WebView webView = runner.CreateWebView();


This will initialize the browser engine so that later WebView creation will be faster. Note that you must also call webView.Destroy() to destroy this WebView when your application exits.

Hope this helps. Please feel free to let us know if you have any more questions.

Thanks!
Evren
Posted: Sunday, April 19, 2015 11:57:31 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/18/2015
Posts: 2
First of all, thank you for the response.

So EO.WebBrowser has the similar airspace issue as well. You mean using the busy indicator on other window with lower opacity and showing it as dialog?

I'm going to try Threadrunner solution because I'm using the browser in multiple forms. So it is a better solution i guess.

Thank you..
eo_support
Posted: Sunday, April 19, 2015 12:33:06 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,196
Evren wrote:
So EO.WebBrowser has the similar airspace issue as well. You mean using the busy indicator on other window with lower opacity and showing it as dialog?


You are welcome. Yes, you are correct. You can use a dialog. But you can not use another control overlay on top of the browser inside the same window. Airspace issue is exactly the root of the problem.

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.