Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

intermittently receive net::ERR_CACHE_READ_FAILURE for script content Options
roger reynolds
Posted: Tuesday, March 17, 2015 7:50:12 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 3/11/2014
Posts: 57
using EO.WebBrowser version 3.0.100.0
Sproadically (making it very difficult to nail down) when a page is being loaded into a WPF based WebControl i see that it will get errors loading some script or another. Using the remote debugger, i was finally able to attach to such an instance and at least in one case, is see that there are a few errors like so in the console:

Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CACHE_READ_FAILURE http://localhost:9000/js/axiom/axiom.forms.js?axversion=2.5.0.0
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CACHE_READ_FAILURE http://localhost:9000/js/axiom/gridsvg.js?axversion=2.5.0.0

The page seems to work correctly dozens of times prior to that, and if you reload, the same page in the same WebControl it will work the next time. It's just that every so often, get these random errors.

It *seems* like it is more likely to happen after the browser control sits idle for a while (half hour or more), but that isn't confirmed.

At the start of my application, I do set EO.WebBrowser.Runtime.CachePath to the path of a folder in my %appdata% area. At times, there could be more than one process running web browser controls that are pointed to the same cache folder. Would that be problem?

I know, not much solid to go on here, but this is as best as i can characterize it so far, given that it happens so infrequently. When it does happen, however, it's a real show stopper. Nothing much good happens after you fail to load jquery or some other key framework script.

One thing i haven't tried is disabling the CachePath (set to null?) and see if that clears it up. This would prevent me from storing cookies though, right? Can't really do that.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
roger
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, March 17, 2015 8:21:32 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,196
Hi,

Sharing the same cache path between multiple processes would definitely cause problems. This is true even if you leave CachePath empty (the default value). In the latest build, if you do not set cache path, it will automatically set it to a sub directory in your temp directory. The name of the sub directory is based on the version of your EO.WebBrowser.dll, so even in that case multiple processes using the same version of EO.WebBrowser.dll will use the same cache path and this will definitely cause problem for you. So you would definitely want to have only one processes that initializes the browser control.

Thanks!
roger reynolds
Posted: Tuesday, March 17, 2015 8:28:09 PM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 3/11/2014
Posts: 57
OK, so it would be easy enough for me to make a distinct cache folder per process.
Now my question is - when would these get cleaned up? Is there a method in the EO api someplace that i could call to clear the cache and/or delete the folder?

Thanks.
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, March 17, 2015 8:37:22 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,196
Hi,

This is a very good question. We do not have any interface for you to clean up contents in the cache folder selectively. Currently the only way to clean it up is to delete the whole folder. Adding interface for code to selectively clean up contents in cache folder is high on our list. So we hope we can support it soon.

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.