Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

TabStrip can not find MultiPage Options
rsaville
Posted: Wednesday, November 7, 2007 12:01:11 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/3/2007
Posts: 12
Here is the error message I get when I run the page:
"EO.Web Controls Client Side Debug Message: TabStrip 'TabStrip1' is associated with MultiPage 'MultiPage1'. But the MultiPage does not exist."

Below is the code. There is a multiPage element with the ID MultiPage1.

What am I doing wrong? (The "items removed" where created by the TabStrip Builder)

Thanks

<%@ Page Language="C#" AutoEventWireup="true" CodeFile="eo.aspx.cs" Inherits="eo" %>
<%@ Register TagPrefix="eo" NameSpace="EO.Web" Assembly="EO.Web" %>

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" >
<head runat="server">
<title>Untitled Page</title>
</head>
<body>
<form id="form1" runat="server">
<div>
<eo:tabstrip id="TabStrip1" runat="server" ControlSkinID="None" MultiPageID="MultiPage1">
<TopGroup>
<Items>
[items removed to shorten post]
</Items>
</TopGroup>
<LookItems>
[items removed to shorten post]
</LookItems>
</eo:tabstrip>
<eo:MultiPage runat="server" id="MultiPage1" Width="438" Height="200">
</eo:MultiPage>
</div>
</form>
</body>
</html>
eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, November 7, 2007 12:05:25 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

Your code looks perfectly fine to me, except that the MultiPage supposes to have at least one PageView object. Have you tried that yet?

Thanks
rsaville
Posted: Wednesday, November 7, 2007 1:28:23 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/3/2007
Posts: 12
I put in a single PageView element, there is no change, same error.

The code is short. Could you cut and paste it into a project and see if it runs for you? I am on VS 2005, c# 2005 (77626-009-0000007-41829). I don't know what else to try, this is my "hello world" code for using a tabStrip.
eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, November 7, 2007 1:48:23 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

We did try the code and it works fine here. In fact if that doesn't work, then none of our sample would work.

I would recommend you to try a few things:

1. Make sure that you do not have any code behind. You can try to remove the Page directive completely on top of your page;
2. Remove all the generated tab items, try it with one single TabItem with a simple text. For example: <eo:TabItem Text-Html="test"></eo:TabItem>;
3. Try to load our sample project and see if you can run it. Numerous sample pages use TabStrip this way;

If any of the above case runs, then you probably will know where to look. Let us know how it goes.

Thanks
rsaville
Posted: Wednesday, November 7, 2007 2:16:56 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/3/2007
Posts: 12
Looks like I have a problem with my VS solution. If I start a new project and make a web site, the tabStrip works fine. With my solution loaded, the Toolbox has three extra tabs with the names of some of my projects in the solution. Each says "There are no usable controls in this group." The EO.Web tab is there as well, but if I drag in any control a popup says "Attempt to read or write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is corrupt"

Have to see what is going on with these extra tabs in the toolbox.

Thanks for the quick replies.
rsaville
Posted: Wednesday, November 7, 2007 6:50:39 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/3/2007
Posts: 12
My .sln file is causing this problem. Could I send you the .sln file only for you to reproduce the bug? If you load the .sln, all of the project will fail to load, but you can then make a web site and it will fail as I described whenever you drag an EO control to default.aspx .
eo_support
Posted: Wednesday, November 7, 2007 6:58:33 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Absolutely. We would love to take a look, even you already know how to get around it. Please zip it up and include detailed instructions and send it to us. See your private message as where to send them.
rsaville
Posted: Friday, November 9, 2007 4:08:30 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/3/2007
Posts: 12
I sent the .sln file in response to the e-mail you sent.

The repro steps are simple:
1. load the .sln,
2. all the projects will fail to load because I have not sent you the source to the projects. They are not necessary for the repro.
3. make a web site, (stored on file system)
4. drag an EO control onto default.aspx. This will fail with the error message: “Attempt to read or write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is corrupt.”

If I start with a new solution this problem does not occur.

Thanks
eo_support
Posted: Friday, November 9, 2007 8:14:48 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

We verified the file you sent to us and did duplicated the error. It appears to be Visual Studio bug, fortunately there is a simple workaround. Just right click the newly created web project, then select Add Reference -> Browse, then browse for the correct EO.Web.dll and click "OK". This manually adds the reference to the web project.

Once you have added the reference, everything started to work as normal.

This however seems to be a different issue than your first post. So please verify it and if you are seeing other problems, feel free to send us repro samples.

Thanks
rsaville
Posted: Saturday, November 10, 2007 7:13:19 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/3/2007
Posts: 12
I have discovered the problem. If there is a "Web Deployment Project" and the project has been "unloaded" then the EO error message will be generated when an EO control is added to a web page.

Repro steps:
1. File | New | Web site
2. Right click on Web Site in solution explorer, select "Add Web Deployment Project"
3. Right click on Deployment Project in solution explorer, select "Unload Project"
4. Attempt to drag EO control to default.aspx, get error message “Attempt to read or write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is corrupt.”

"Reload Project" on the deployment project and the problem goes away, EO controls can be added.


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.