Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

EO Web Menu Javascript error IE10 Effects Options
mperkins
Posted: Monday, November 12, 2012 3:55:07 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 11/9/2012
Posts: 1
I am using the latest version of the EO Web Menu Control in a SaaS application. The menu control works fine in all browsers except IE10. I am viewing the site on a Windows RT Surface. From within the developer tools for IE I went to the script tab and selected the start debugging option. I then tried to hover over my top level items in the menu to cause their submenu items to drop down. This is when the script error is fired and it takes me to the eo_web.ashx control.

The link appeard as eo_web.ashx?id=497350f2-fe90-46a0-b73f-8855d4c1483d

Error Message:
"SCRIPT5007: Unable to get property 'length' of undefined or null reference"

The error states the problem occurs in line 6 character 10395 of the file.

The statement that it messes up on is if(a.filters.length > e) return a


There are also two other menu controls on the page whose content is static. The hovers on those menus work as intended.

I believe this is a bug any advice, guidance, or solution is appreciated.


Edit: Additional Information
The menu that errors is the only one that utilizes the expand effect and collapse effect. Below is the setting that was used on the menu control.
Code: HTML/ASPX
<SubMenu CollapseEffect-Type="Fade" 
         ExpandEffect-Type="Fade" ItemSpacing="3" LeftIconCellWidth="5" 
         Style-CssClass="submenuItemsNormal"
         collapseeffect-duration="150" expandeffect-duration="150">
 </SubMenu>



Upon removing the effects and duration the error went away and the menu control works. Can you please verify that this is bug either with the control or IE10?
eo_support
Posted: Monday, November 12, 2012 4:23:10 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,195
Hi,

Thank you very much for the information. We do not officially support IE 10 yet. We are working on that and should have an update soon.

Thanks!
eo_support
Posted: Monday, November 12, 2012 4:29:45 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,195
Yes. That's a valid workaround. It seems that IE 10 removed filter support. The code assumes all IEs support filters. We will need to change our code to detect whether filter is indeed supported and if not, just ignore the effect you set. Of course, you still won't have those effects --- but you won't run into script error either.


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.