|
Rank: Newbie Groups: Member
Joined: 8/22/2007 Posts: 5
|
Hi, We put a CallBack Panel in a aspx page with 3 dropdownlist. When we open this one in IE the LoadingHTML take a while before appearing to the user. Then we tried the same page with Firefox and the LoadingHTML work perfectly. It take less than a second to see it.
Is there a way to get this to work efficently with IE too ?
When the user select a city from our first dropdown, the second is populated with district ( there is 0 to 9 disctrict maximum by city and the list of the streets( third dropdownList) for the district.
The important thing is, Firefox works very well but IE take a while for the same city with district and streets.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Check the number of items in your drop down. You might have a huge list. When that occurs, IE will slow down dramatically when doing a callback.
|
|
Rank: Newbie Groups: Member
Joined: 8/22/2007 Posts: 5
|
OK,
So, there is nothing to do with this situation. The problem is IE ?
But, if we just do it without the CallBack Panel and just the postack, IE respond very well. Less than one second.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
It has to do with both. When the CallbackPanel start a callback, it checks all the items to find out which one is selected with JavaScript. This is not needed when IE does a postback by itself because IE already knows which item is selected. The same thing happens on FireFox, but FireFox runs JavaScript much faster than IE sometimes, especially when accessing DHTML elements.
Thanks
|
|
Rank: Newbie Groups: Member
Joined: 8/22/2007 Posts: 5
|
We tried to limit our dropdownlist to 4 items but... even with only 4 cities, IE is very, very slow. About 4-5 seconds before LoadingHTML appear to the user.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
That is not right. You might want to try it on an empty test page and see if the same thing happens. If it still happens, please post your test page and we will take a look.
|
|
Rank: Newbie Groups: Member
Joined: 8/22/2007 Posts: 5
|
You are right.
Our 3 dropdownList are in an ascx control. This user control is in an aspx page and this page is in a master page.
If I put the code behind my control directly in an aspx page without the control and the master page, the LoadingHTML took 1-2 seconds with 1000 cities in the list, and now the 4-5 cities is less than a second.
Maybe it's the time IE take to search inside the object in javascipt. But anyway, I apologize.
|
|