Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

Width of TabStrip Options
thilo
Posted: Monday, June 18, 2012 5:27:55 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 6/18/2012
Posts: 2
Hi,

I'd like to include a TapStrip on the right side of a splitter. Unfortunatelly the following function works only with the TreeView and the height of the TabStrip but not with its width. The Tabstrip should also operate in the ScollingMode, but that's not the problem. Any ideas?

Quote:

function OnSplitterResized(splitter)
{
var left = splitter.getLeftPane().getWidth();
var right = splitter.getRightPane().getWidth();
var height = splitter.getLeftPane().getHeight();

//Resize the TreeView
var treeView = eo_GetObject("TreeView1");
treeView.setSize(left - 5, height - 134);

// Resize Tab
var tabStrip = eo_GetObject("TabStrip1");
tabStrip.setHeight(height );
tabStrip.setWidth(left);
}


Best regards
Thilo
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, June 19, 2012 9:11:35 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,195
Hi,

You won't be able to resize a TabStrip in scrolling mode as the scrolling buttons are only positioned on initial load. So if you change the TabStrip's width later, the scrolling button will not reposition thus would appear at the wrong position.

For non scrolling TabStrip, you do not need to resize it. Usually the bottom line is designed to be able to automatically fill the whole available width ---- just make sure you do not give the TabStrip a width value at all. So if you want the TabStrip automatically fill the splitter pane, you just place the TabStrip in the splitter, and neither set width on the TabStrip, nor resize it with code.

You should not resize the TabStrip's height. The TabStrip is only the top portion of a tabbed UI. The height of that portion should not change.

Thanks!
thilo
Posted: Tuesday, June 19, 2012 1:49:06 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 6/18/2012
Posts: 2
Tanks for your reply:

eo_support wrote:
You won't be able to resize a TabStrip in scrolling mode as the scrolling buttons are only positioned on initial load.

I think that's a must have feature of the TabStrip. If you have too many taps to display, even at 100% width, you are messed up.

eo_support wrote:
So if you want the TabStrip automatically fill the splitter pane, you just place the TabStrip in the splitter, and neither set width on the TabStrip, nor resize it with code.

Yes, that works fine. Maybe the multirow feature is try worth.

Greeting
Thilo
eo_support
Posted: Tuesday, June 19, 2012 2:48:56 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,195
Hi,

We have no plan to support resizing on multi-row tab now. The reason is the absolute majority uses fixed width tabstrip and handling resizing event is very taxing on the TabStrip. While we do support scrolling tabstrip and multi-row tabstrip, these are used much less frequently in real application due to performance implications ---- usually each tab will have an associated MultiPage control that contains a lot of controls, so too many tabs means too many controls to load on a single page. Thus pushing the limits on that front usually does not worth the effort.

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.