|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 9/4/2007 Posts: 114
|
After installing the 2011 version of EO.Web, and testing some of my pages, I am seeing this message:
Message from webpage
EO.Web Controls Client Side Debug Message:
function eo_GetObject encountered multiple objects with the same id. This happens when multiple server controls have the same ID, but resides in different naming containers, for example, different user controls or different rows in a templated data grid. Please correct the problem by calling eo_GetObject with the ClientID of the control instead of the ID of the control.
You can turn off this message by setting EO.Web.Runtime.DebugLevel to 0 (Not recommended for debug build).
OK
No other changes were made to the page where this message is reported. Has the calling convention for eo_GetObject() changed since the 2010 version? 8.0.47.2 is our current production version and does not report the same issue.
We have always called the eo_GetObject using the ID of the control ( not .ClientID ) We do reference other controls in script in this format but have not used this syntax for the eo_GetObject() function.
Is the .ClientID now required in the 2011 version for the eo_GetOject() function?
Thanks
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
I am not aware of any changes on how eo_GetObject works. However there have been changes on when the controls are unloaded when an AJAX call is involved, wWhich may affect eo_GetObject indirectly. In any case, it's always recommended to use ClientID for eo_GetObject. The function would check both ID and ClientID. When there is no conflict, just specifying ID would be sufficient. Otherwise you would need to use ClientID.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 9/4/2007 Posts: 114
|
The examples in your source code on which we based our eo_GetObject function calls showed the (ControlID).show(true); syntax.
Perhaps [for some reason] in this function call, we overlooked the need for Control.ClientID, which we do use in all other control references. It only came up as a problem with eo_GetObject with the new version, as indicated.
Thanks
|
|