|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 5/6/2010 Posts: 18
|
We have found an issue with Uploader or Downloader control after migration to version 8. We use both controls at one page but uploader control is inside a frame. After starting download process frame with upload control in Internet Explorer is not visible. In Firefox everything is fine. In version 7 everything is fine too. We rolled back to version 7.
We've compared generated code with v8 and v7.
At the end of the file generated with version 8 there are following code block which is not present on version 7. As you can see script tag at the end is not closed. Hope this will be helpful for you.
Could you please fix this ASAP ? Thank you.
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 5/6/2010 Posts: 18
|
Application which demonstrate the issue was sent to you. Thanks.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
We have looked into the issue. It appears that IE 8 would not correctly refresh the iframe (which was incorrectly cleared by IE 8 when the downloader starts). The easiest way to workaround this problem is to change your iframe's src to include some random number:
uploadFrame.Attributes["src"] = "http://localhost:1108/Default.aspx?" + new Random().Next();
You can also change the random number to a timestamp. This ensures the Url gets refreshed every time.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 5/6/2010 Posts: 18
|
eo_support wrote:Hi,
We have looked into the issue. It appears that IE 8 would not correctly refresh the iframe (which was incorrectly cleared by IE 8 when the downloader starts). The easiest way to workaround this problem is to change your iframe's src to include some random number:
uploadFrame.Attributes["src"] = "http://localhost:1108/Default.aspx?" + new Random().Next();
You can also change the random number to a timestamp. This ensures the Url gets refreshed every time.
Thanks! It is not working in IE 7 as well. Previous version of EO controls (v7) working correctly in IE 7 and IE 8
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
We are not exactly sure why IE 7 would not refresh that iframe. So I would suggest you to place the uploader directly inside your main page.
Previous version does work on both browsers because it uses a new window to initiate the download. As a result, every time the downloader starts you would see a small new window popup. That has its own set of problems (popup blockers, unable to close the popup properly, etc). The new version changed this so that it no longer uses a new popup window. Our test indicates that it works much better under "normal" use. However your scenario does present a unique case where it would not work. But we are unable to roll back to the previous code because that has more problems.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 5/6/2010 Posts: 18
|
eo_support wrote:Hi,
We are not exactly sure why IE 7 would not refresh that iframe. So I would suggest you to place the uploader directly inside your main page.
Previous version does work on both browsers because it uses a new window to initiate the download. As a result, every time the downloader starts you would see a small new window popup. That has its own set of problems (popup blockers, unable to close the popup properly, etc). The new version changed this so that it no longer uses a new popup window. Our test indicates that it works much better under "normal" use. However your scenario does present a unique case where it would not work. But we are unable to roll back to the previous code because that has more problems.
Thanks! Hi. You are right. Roll back hasn't sense. I just noticed that it works with previous version. Unfortunately we can't put upload control to main page by technical reason. We will try to use the workaround which you have provided. Thank you!
|
|
Rank: Member Groups: Member
Joined: 5/6/2010 Posts: 18
|
Hello. We uploaded latest version and this issue still present.
We used EO v7 as workaround during last year. Now we would like to move to latest one as it has some fixes as well.
Do You have any other variants except provided with all time refresh frame ?
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
I do not believe we will change our code for this. The previous workaround is valid and it should work for you.
Thanks!
|
|