Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

500 Error traced to grid databing and postback after waiting one minute... Options
Jon Miller
Posted: Friday, May 20, 2011 9:57:45 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 23
I am trying to debug a 500 error that occurs if the page has not been refreshed in a minute (or so). If the page controls, buttons or dropdowns are used repeatedly, no error occurs.

I decided to build a page inclemently to test each component…here is the sequence:

1. Page with buttons, dropdowns, eo.callback, session variables
2. Add unpopulated grid
3. Add session variable that match application
All of these ran ok after pausing 10 or more minutes between post backs
4. Added sql query but no bind.

Ran OK

5. Added bind
After one minute pause, post back causes 500 error …not that there is no rebind with these post backs…just button and dropdown action.

6. Tried both server and client modes
7. Same error.
What do I need to do to keep the bound data from causing an error?

eo_support
Posted: Friday, May 20, 2011 10:57:04 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

I do not believe this has anything to do with the Grid --- in fact we are not aware of any scenario a control would cause error 500 by itself. You can try to replace our Grid with standard ASP.NET DataGrid and see if you still have the problem. If you do, then it's certain that the problem is in your code.

If you still believe the problem is on our side, you can try to isolate the problem into a test page/application and then send it to us. Make sure the code runs independently and only contain code needed to reproduce the problem. We will be happy to take a look as soon as we have that.

Thanks!
Jon Miller
Posted: Friday, May 20, 2011 11:06:58 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 23
Please help me understand the post back process and data that has been cached in the client or the server grid. It appears that the grid data content is expiring. The code as is will runr for hours provided that you refresh the view in short intervals.

One again, the only code being executed on the callback is a dropdown.itemselected and a label.text update?
eo_support
Posted: Friday, May 20, 2011 11:18:40 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

There is really nothing special about the post back process. It's standard HTTP post back with form data. This is the same for every web form.

Thanks
Jon Miller
Posted: Friday, May 20, 2011 11:32:04 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 23
Is there a timer on the viewstate that might be and issue?
eo_support
Posted: Friday, May 20, 2011 11:37:07 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
We will not answer this. We really do not believe this has anything to do with us. We are not in a position to provide technical assistance to help you to troubleshoot your application errors. If you believe the problem is related to us, please isolate it to a test page or test app and send it to us. We will be happy to investigate further. Otherwise you should seek other resource for such problems.


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.