|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 5/19/2010 Posts: 35
|
Hi,
I've currently got a grid with keyboard navigation enabled. When a cell is selected, it will automatically go into edit mode. Tabbing between cells is all working well, except for one cell which has a number of controls including a DatePicker which is given focus on the cell's begin edit function.
I've noticed that DatePicker has its own EnableKeyboardNavigation, so I'm assuming this is where the issue is happening. Is there a way to set it so the DatePicker's tab is ignored and the overall cell's 'tab' event is done instead? Setting the DatePicker's EnableKeyboardNavigation to false didn't seem to do the trick.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
Unfortunately there is no way to disable that. EnableKeyboardNavigation is an inherited property but it is not used by the DatePicker.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 5/19/2010 Posts: 35
|
Ah yep, that should be fine.
A further issue we're having: We've got a page which consists of a "Search Grid" which dynamically loads a "Results Grid" after the user presses the search button. Both have Keyboard Navigation enabled, but the Search Grid seems to lose this functionality somewhat after the postback is called: Tabbing through the grid doesn't appear to work as it should, with the cell simply exiting edit mode. Is there any reason this may be happening?
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
We can't think of anything that can cause this. Can you create a test page demonstrating the problem?
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 5/19/2010 Posts: 35
|
I'll try and get a test page to you ASAP.
One more question regarding Keyboard Navigation: I noticed there was an example you posted around selecting a Textbox belonging to a TextBoxColumn on edit, is there a way to do a similar thing for selecting the checkbox in a CheckBoxColumn? We're essentially wanting the whole grid to be navigatable by keyboard.
Thanks again!
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
I don't believe there is anyway to do that in the current version. The idea of CustomColumn is to let the custom column to handle everything, including navigational keys (such as arrows, enters, esc, tab, etc). So if we were to handle those keys, it can get a little bit tricky if the CustomColumn wants to handle those keys as well. A possible solution is to have the Grid to provide a handler that the CustomColumn can call when it wants the Grid to handle those keys, however that has yet to be implemented.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 5/19/2010 Posts: 35
|
I'm not entirely sure I'm following your reply, I was asking about TextBoxColumns. Is there a way to make it so when a TextBoxColumn is selected, its relevent checkbox is put into focus? I noticed there was a similar example posted for TextBoxColumns which did a similar thing.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
Sorry I misunderstood your question. I do not think the same logic works for CheckBoxColumn. TextBoxColumn has an explicit "edit mode" but CheckBoxColumn does not. I believe the sample you are talking about automatically puts the TextBoxColumn into "edit mode" when it is selected, however because CheckBoxColumn does not have an edit mode, so there is no way for you to do so.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 5/19/2010 Posts: 35
|
Ah yep, that's fine.
One more question: Is it possible to 'lap past' columns which are readonly? I can't find any javascript functions alongthe lines of GetVisibility so I'm sort of wondering about this one.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
No. You cannot do that. The only cells that are skipped are fixed columns. The reason is users need to be able to tab through the read only columns in order to correctly scroll the Grid. Imagine that you have a Grid with 10 columns with the first 9 being read-only. If the Grid is only wide enough to show 3 columns, then user would never be able to see the left most columns by keyboard because they wouldn't get focus into those cells if the Grid were to skip read only cells.
Thanks!
|
|