Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

Floater with Menu Options
John Foley
Posted: Friday, December 18, 2009 1:18:33 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/6/2008
Posts: 29
Hi,

I recently downloaded the most current version of EO.Web. We have been using this product for a couple of years now but I wanted to use the new Floater Control so we were going to upgrade.

I have the floater control setup to always remain visible on the bottom part of my screen and on that bar, I have an EO.Web control, The problem is that when I scroll down on my page, the sub menu of the menu control doesn't move with it. So if I scroll down three inches, for example, and then click on the menu, the submenu is then 3 inches above the bottom bar. Is this something that should be working or will the menu control not work on the floater?

Thanks,
John
eo_support
Posted: Friday, December 18, 2009 2:38:22 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

We have not been able to reproduce the problem. Can you provide a test page that demonstrates this problem? Make sure the test page runs and only contains code necessary to reproduce the problem.

Thanks!
John Foley
Posted: Friday, December 18, 2009 4:49:19 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/6/2008
Posts: 29
Hi,
It's very difficult for me to provide a link to a sample page because I'd have to update the EO.WEB.dll on our websites but we haven't paid for the upgrade yet. We are planning on updating but want to make sure this new control is going to work for us.

One very important note that I did not include in the first post is that control works fine in all browsers except FIREFOX. That's the one that causes the issues. I can include the code if you'd like for my sample page but I cannot provide a link to a sample page.

floater.aspx
<%@ Page Language="VB" AutoEventWireup="false" CodeFile="floater.aspx.vb" Inherits="floater" %>
<%@ Register TagPrefix="eo" Namespace="EO.Web" Assembly="EO.Web" %>

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head runat="server">
<title></title>
</head>
<body>
<form id="form1" runat="server">
<div style='height:2000px; border:1px solid black;'>
<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
<div id='anchor'></div>
<eo:Floater ID="myFloater" runat="server" BottomAnchorID="anchor" Width="100%">
<div class="bar">
<eo:menu id="myMenu" runat="server" TopLevelItemAlign="Right" />
</div>
</eo:Floater>
</div>
</form>
</body>
</html>

floater.aspx.vb
Imports eo.Web

Partial Class floater
Inherits System.Web.UI.Page

Private Sub Page_Load(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

If Not Page.IsPostBack Then

setupMenuBar()

End If

End Sub

Sub setupMenuBar()

'Setup Menu Style
myMenu.ExpandOnClick = ExpandOnClickState.EnabledForTopLevelOnly
myMenu.KeepExpandedOnClick = True
myMenu.Style.Add("cursor", "hand pointer")
myMenu.RightToLeft = True

Dim effect As New EO.Web.Effect
effect.Duration = 500
effect.Type = EO.Web.EffectType.GlideBottomToTop

Dim lefteffect As New EO.Web.Effect
lefteffect.Duration = 500
lefteffect.Type = EO.Web.EffectType.GlideLeftToRight
Dim item As New MenuItem
Dim subMenu As New MenuItem
'Configure the EO Menu

'Add the Next Step Item
item = New MenuItem
item.Text.Html = "Your Next Step"
item.SubMenu.ShadowDepth = 0
item.NormalStyle.CssText = "width:110px;height:22px;padding-bottom:2px;"
item.HoverStyle.CssText = "background-color:#000000;color:#ffffff;width:110px;height:22px;padding-bottom:2px;"
myMenu.Items.Add(item)

subMenu = New MenuItem
subMenu.SubMenuIcon = SubMenuIconSource.None
item.SubMenu.ExpandDirection = ExpandDirection.Top
item.SubMenu.Style.CssText = "border-top:1px solid black;border-left:1px solid black;border-right:1px solid black;border-bottom:1px solid black;"
subMenu.Text.Html = "<table border='0' height='220' width='235'><tr><td>Test Sub Element</td></tr></table>"
subMenu.NormalStyle.CssText = "background-color:#ffffff;cursor:hand;"
subMenu.HoverStyle.CssText = "background-color:#ffffff;background-image:url('images/2009/upcoming_hover.png'); background-repeat:repeat-y;cursor:hand;"
subMenu.SubMenu.Style.CssText = "border-top:1px solid black;border-left:1px solid black;border-right:1px solid black;border-bottom:1px solid black;"
item.SubMenu.Items.Add(subMenu)
item.SubMenu.ExpandEffect = effect
item.SubMenu.OffsetX = -159

End Sub

End Class

Thanks for any help you can provide.
John Foley
Posted: Friday, December 18, 2009 4:51:07 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/6/2008
Posts: 29
Sloppy code, but it should cause the problem I described in the original post if run in fire fox.

The menu will work properly when the page originally loads, but if you scroll down and then click on "Your next Step" the sub menu will no longer be next to the menu - but it will be near the top of the screen.

Thanks!
John
eo_support
Posted: Friday, December 18, 2009 4:54:46 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

Thanks for the code. That's exactly what we need. Actually we do not need a link because the goal is so that we can reproduce the problem in our own debug environment. So the code is exactly what we are looking for here.

We will try the code and get back to you as soon as we find anything (or need any more information).

Thanks!
John Foley
Posted: Friday, December 18, 2009 4:58:50 PM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/6/2008
Posts: 29
One last post I'd like to add is that I want the bar to appear at the bottom of the user's browser. I wrote some javascript to locate my anchor there, but I was wondering if there is a built in way to do that so I don't have to worry about the javascript.

Thanks!
John
eo_support
Posted: Friday, December 18, 2009 5:03:56 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
No. Unfortunately there isn't. It's a very attractive feature so we would love to have that implemented in a future version.

Thanks!
John Foley
Posted: Monday, December 21, 2009 8:43:24 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 9/6/2008
Posts: 29
Hi, I just wanted to check in to see if you were able to duplicate the issue I was having with the sub-menu of the menu control not moving with the floater in Firefox.

Thanks!
John
eo_support
Posted: Monday, December 21, 2009 8:49:59 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Yes. We were able to reproduce and fix the issue. Please see your private message for download location.

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.