|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 8/22/2009 Posts: 30
|
I have a problem with Dialog control.
I have a ListView which has in every Item UpdatePanel which has Dialog control. In Footer template of Dialog control there is LinkButton but when I press it, nothing happens, dialog isn't closed and PostBack isn't invoked.
I have tested same situation outside of ListView, in one UpdatePanel, and there works fine.
What is the problem?
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
Please create a test page that demonstrates the problem. Once we have that we will try to deubg it here and see what we can find.
Thanks!
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 8/22/2009 Posts: 30
|
eo_support wrote:Hi,
Please create a test page that demonstrates the problem. Once we have that we will try to deubg it here and see what we can find.
Thanks! I would, but it's not that easy, because it involves so many controls. I have some questions. I have found out that when I remove all content from ContentTemplate then button in FooterTemplate do postback. The difference that I have found between filled and empty ContentTemplate is in generated onclick event for LinkButton in FooterTemplate. When there exists controls in ContentTemplate then this is generated for onclick event: javascript:WebForm_DoPostBackWithOptions(new WebForm_PostBackOptions("ctl00$cphInnerContent$lstv$ctrl0$eodlg$ctl01$lnkbtn", "", true, "", "page.aspx", false, true)) When ContentTemplate is empty then this is generated for onclick event: javascript:WebForm_DoPostBackWithOptions(new WebForm_PostBackOptions("ctl00$cphInnerContent$lstv$ctrl0$eodlg$ctl01$lnkbtn", "", false, "", "page.aspx", false, true)) I have marked parameter with red color that is different. Hope this helps.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
intermas wrote:I would, but it's not that easy, because it involves so many controls. That's exactly why we ask you to produce a test page. We are not in a position to troubleshoot your code, so we always need you to isolate the problem first. We also need a test page to verify whatever solution we come up indeed resolve the problem for you. Please see here for more details: http://www.essentialobjects.com/forum/postst3013_I-run-into-a-problem-can-I-send-over-my-code-so-that-you-can-take-a-look.aspxThanks
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
We have looked into the code you sent to us. The behavior is normal. All validators are run when you try to submit the page, including the invisible ones. So after you entered something and click submit in the dialog, all other RequiredValidators that were created for other rows were failing, which prevent your page from being submitted. In order to resolve the issue, you need to either assign different ValidationGroup value to controls for different row; or use a single dialog for all rows.
Thanks
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 8/22/2009 Posts: 30
|
eo_support wrote:Hi,
We have looked into the code you sent to us. The behavior is normal. All validators are run when you try to submit the page, including the invisible ones. So after you entered something and click submit in the dialog, all other RequiredValidators that were created for other rows were failing, which prevent your page from being submitted. In order to resolve the issue, you need to either assign different ValidationGroup value to controls for different row; or use a single dialog for all rows.
Thanks Thank you, it didn't crossed my mind, that is solved. Now, I have different problem, I am not sure you can help me. LinkButton is causing full postback instead of async postback. Can you help me on this? In my dialog test page that is not happening, but on my development page is happening, I am not sure why.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Hi,
The reason is the dialog is being taken outside of the regular page layout once it is shown. So it is no longer a child control of your UpdatePanel. There are several workarounds. One way is to use our CallbackPanel instead of UpdatePanel; Another way is to explicitly set the UpdatePanel's Triggers. You can also move the UpdatePanel inside the dialog's ContentTemplate.
Thanks
|
|
Rank: Advanced Member Groups: Member
Joined: 8/22/2009 Posts: 30
|
eo_support wrote:Hi,
The reason is the dialog is being taken outside of the regular page layout once it is shown. So it is no longer a child control of your UpdatePanel. There are several workarounds. One way is to use our CallbackPanel instead of UpdatePanel; Another way is to explicitly set the UpdatePanel's Triggers. You can also move the UpdatePanel inside the dialog's ContentTemplate.
Thanks I have tried already EO CallbackPanel, but it's the same behavior as UpdatePanel. I have set EO Dialog control as Triggers and that works. Thanks for help, I appreciate it.
|
|
Rank: Administration Groups: Administration
Joined: 5/27/2007 Posts: 24,194
|
Great. Glad that it worked for you!
|
|