Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

Need Help with Grid Options
Menon
Posted: Friday, June 26, 2009 10:06:32 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/9/2007
Posts: 59
Hi There,

I am trying to Perform certain functions with Grid.

1. Trying to Change the PickerFormat of DatePicker within the Grid.
Within the ColumTemplates it has <eo:DateTimeColumn> inside which i give
PickerHint="dd/MM/yyyy" PickerFormat="dd/MM/yyyy" But still when i select the Date inside the Grid i get MM/dd/yyyy inside the DatePicker?

2. I am using DropDownlist inside the CustomColumn. Everything works fine. I am using the Excel Grid format. Now the Data inside the DropDownlist is not Static. I am passing it from DataBase.
On Click of PostBack i get the values of all the cells which is perfect. But for the DropDownlist i need the DataValueField and Not the DataTextField that appears inside the cells of the Grid. I suppose since the Grid is running ClientSide might be this is not possible? Please let me know if there is something i can do for it.

3. Now i copied the Exact code of the ItemCommand Server. It fires the Javascript method OnItemSelected, but it doesnt Raise server side ItemCommand event?

4. I am just trying to put down ButtonColumns inside Grid for Edit and Delete, and it to call Server Side Method. Something like OnRowEditing="" and OnRowDeleteing="" in normal asp:GridView.
I believe my answer to this question lies again in my question 3 if i can manage to Raise Server Side ItemCommand, i might manage this ones also.

As it is for Client side i see the Grid is working absolutely perfect and smooth. I just need some help with the Server Side, i tried the documentation and all the past Posts done by users, but i couldnt find the solution henceforth i am posting this one.

Thanks
Menon
eo_support
Posted: Friday, June 26, 2009 12:21:26 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

As to your question:

1. We verified that the feature works fine at here. However you do need to specify PickerHint directly in your .aspx page (I don't think the Grid Builder saves PickerHint for you). If it does not work for you, please try to create a test page that reproduces the error and we will be happy to take a look once we have that;

2. You will need to code your CustomColumn's ClientSideEndEdit handler to return whatever value you want to store in the Grid;

http://doc.essentialobjects.com/library/1/grid/custom_column.aspx

3. ItemCommand does not fire automatically. I believe it fires if you have a ButtomColumn or you explicitly call raisesItemCommandEvent from your JavaScript. See here for more details:

http://doc.essentialobjects.com/library/1/grid/columns.aspx

Look for "ButtonColumn".

4. See item 3.

The documentation should cover most questions you have about the product, however what you do want to keep in mind is that it is impossible for the documentation to cover every business scenario. Thus you need to be able to draw comparison between the documentation and your scenario and adapt accordingly. In another word, the documentation is to give you information so that you can code a solution base upon. It is not meant to directly give you a solution for whatever business scenario you have.

Thanks
Menon
Posted: Monday, July 6, 2009 2:03:48 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/9/2007
Posts: 59
Hi There,

Sorry to get back late. I was busy with another Project.
I have uploaded your demo project live at http://www.vakakisnet.gr/EO.Web/default.aspx. I have tried changing the PickerFormat and PickerHint to "dd/MM/yyyy" in Grid->Feature->Excel Style. I hope it helps you. I tried all ways but still i am getting the PickerFormat MM/dd/yyyy. And yes Thanks for answering my other Issues (2,3,4). I managed to get all of them working.

Thanks again.

Menon
eo_support
Posted: Monday, July 6, 2009 9:11:05 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

We checked the page and we did not see you changed PickerFormat or PickerHint on the columns. Make sure you change it on the column --- not on the column template. If the problem continues, please post a full test page.

Thanks!
Menon
Posted: Tuesday, July 7, 2009 2:11:35 AM
Rank: Advanced Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 8/9/2007
Posts: 59
Hi,

Thank you very much. Actually i was changing the PickerFormat of DateTimeColumn within ColumnTemplate. I had never realized that we can create a complete New DatePicker within the DateTimeColumn inside Columns. Now that i have created the DatePicker within DateTimeColumn i can completely modify everything. So its working fine now.

Thanks
Menon


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.