Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Sign In | Register

Splitter causing errors in IE Options
Laura Matei
Posted: Thursday, April 9, 2009 11:58:31 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/9/2009
Posts: 6
Hello,
I try to use the "eo web splitter" in my page and I have a problem in IE 6 telling me "this.abbp.ajh.style is null or not an object".

The script breaks on the following line (in the script file that starts with 'var eo_uu=false;var eo_uv=0;'):

this.abbp.ajh.style.position="absolute";

with the callstack:
_eofsp_i JScript
_eofsp_aw JScript
_eofsp_at JScript
_eofsp_g JScript
_eofu_u JScript
_eofsp_e JScript
_eofi_ec JScript
JScript global code JScript
JScript anonymous function JScript
JScript global code JScript
_eofi_fl JScript
_eofi_fi JScript
_eofi_be JScript

In Firefox it works fine.

Please help.
Thank you,

Laura Matei
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, April 9, 2009 11:59:52 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

Do you have a test page that we can take a look?

Thanks!
Laura Matei
Posted: Thursday, April 9, 2009 12:36:31 PM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/9/2009
Posts: 6
Hello,
I can't reproduce the problem in a simple page.
My page contains in the top pane a DevExpress GridView and in the bottom pane a ASPxPageControl from DevExpress again with other controls.

Do you have any idea what should I try to do?

Thanks!
eo_support
Posted: Thursday, April 9, 2009 1:32:36 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

We can not think of anything that you can try to get it to work. It appears that there are some issues between DevExpress controls and the Splitter. Obviously it's not a good option for us to change our product so that it can work with a particular third party's product because we have no control or knowlege about how the other product works. For example, we could change something to make it work with the current version and a few months later they release a new version and it might break again. So in this case, you may wish to consider using our Grid control, or give up splitter all together.

Sorry about that!

Thanks!
Laura Matei
Posted: Friday, April 10, 2009 4:58:13 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/9/2009
Posts: 6
Hello,

I have managed to reproduce the error in a simple page. The problem seems to be the update panel I'm using in my page with the splitter and not the DevExpress controls.

Here is the page:

<%@ Page Language="C#" AutoEventWireup="true" CodeBehind="exemplu.aspx.cs" Inherits="ClientRequestManager.Pages.exemplu" %>
<%@ Register Assembly="EO.Web" Namespace="EO.Web" TagPrefix="eo" %>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head runat="server">
<title>ExampleSplitterError</title>
</head>
<body>
<form id="form1" runat="server">
<asp:ScriptManager ID="ProjectsLayoutScriptManager" runat="server" EnablePartialRendering="True">
</asp:ScriptManager>

<asp:UpdatePanel ID="ProjectContentUpdatePanel" runat="server">
<ContentTemplate>

<table>
<tr>
<td>
<eo:Splitter ID="Splitter1" runat="server" Orientation="Horizontal" DividerImage="00080431"
AutoFillWindow="True" ExpandCollapseButtonAlign="Center" ExpandButtonImage="00080432"
Height="100%">
<eo:SplitterPane ID="topPane" runat="server" Height="350px" PersistScrollPosition="True"
MaxHeight="400" MinHeight="40" ScrollBars="Vertical">
<asp:Panel ID="Panel1" runat="server">
<table>
<tr>
<td>
Hello Top
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</asp:Panel>
</eo:SplitterPane>
<eo:SplitterPane ID="botPane" runat="server" Width="100%" PersistScrollPosition="True"
ScrollBars="Vertical">
<asp:Panel ID="Panel2" runat="server">
<table>
<tr>
<td>
Hello Bottom
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</asp:Panel>
</eo:SplitterPane>
</eo:Splitter>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</ContentTemplate>
</asp:UpdatePanel>
</form>
</body>
</html>

Thank you!
eo_support
Posted: Friday, April 10, 2009 8:45:13 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

Thank you very much for the test page. We have looked into the code. It appears to be an IE problem but we should be able to work around it. Please expect an update build with this problem addressed early next week.

Thanks!
Mohsin Meghani
Posted: Sunday, April 12, 2009 10:05:25 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/12/2009
Posts: 12
Hi Laura,

I beleive here is you solution,

<eo:ScriptManager ID="eoScriptManager" runat="server">
</eo:ScriptManager>

you should add this tags after you asp:scriptmanager because EO splitter requires EO Script manager
eo_support
Posted: Sunday, April 12, 2009 10:19:54 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Mohsin Meghani wrote:
Hi Laura,

I beleive here is you solution,

<eo:ScriptManager ID="eoScriptManager" runat="server">
</eo:ScriptManager>

you should add this tags after you asp:scriptmanager because EO splitter requires EO Script manager


Thanks for your suggestion. However your comment is not accurate. Resolving the issue requires code changes on our side. We have already made such changes and we will have an update build next week with this change included.
Mohsin Meghani
Posted: Sunday, April 12, 2009 10:57:04 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/12/2009
Posts: 12
Hi Laura,

your problem has been solved...
I just added one div before the update panel because EO splitter needs parent width and height: check the below code:

Page Language="C#" AutoEventWireup="true" CodeFile="samplePage.aspx.cs" Inherits="samplePage" %>

<%@ Register Assembly="EO.Web" Namespace="EO.Web" TagPrefix="eo" %>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head id="Head1" runat="server">
<title>ExampleSplitterError</title>
</head>
<body>
<form id="form1" runat="server">
<asp:ScriptManager ID="ProjectsLayoutScriptManager" runat="server" EnablePartialRendering="True">
</asp:ScriptManager>
<div style="height: 100%; width: 100%;position:absolute;top:0;left:0;"> <asp:UpdatePanel ID="ProjectContentUpdatePanel" runat="server">
<ContentTemplate>
<table>
<tr>
<td>
<eo:Splitter ID="Splitter1" runat="server" Orientation="Horizontal" DividerImage="00080431"
AutoFillWindow="True" ExpandCollapseButtonAlign="Center" ExpandButtonImage="00080432"
Height="100%">
<eo:SplitterPane ID="topPane" runat="server" Height="350px" PersistScrollPosition="True"
MaxHeight="400" MinHeight="40" ScrollBars="Vertical">
<asp:Panel ID="Panel1" runat="server">
<table>
<tr>
<td>
Hello Top
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</asp:Panel>
</eo:SplitterPane>
<eo:SplitterPane ID="botPane" runat="server" Width="100%" PersistScrollPosition="True"
ScrollBars="Vertical">
<asp:Panel ID="Panel2" runat="server">
<table>
<tr>
<td>
Hello Bottom
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</asp:Panel>
</eo:SplitterPane>
</eo:Splitter>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</ContentTemplate>
</asp:UpdatePanel>
</div> </form>
</body>
</html>

Happy Coding...:)
eo_support
Posted: Sunday, April 12, 2009 11:17:34 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi Mohsin,

Thank you very much for sharing. That can be a valid workaround.

Thanks!
Mohsin Meghani
Posted: Sunday, April 12, 2009 11:23:27 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/12/2009
Posts: 12
you always welcome Laura....

I love to solve problems...
Laura Matei
Posted: Monday, April 13, 2009 10:41:25 AM
Rank: Newbie
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/9/2009
Posts: 6
Hello,
I've tried the workaround Mohsin has proposed and apparently solved the problem as I don't see any page error when first loading. Anyway, when I reload the page after an update for example made in the database the problem persist.

If you still work on the new build that could solve this IE problem it would be very useful.

Thanks a lot!
Laura
eo_support
Posted: Monday, April 13, 2009 10:48:59 AM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Yes. The new build should be out either today or tomorrow.
Mohsin Meghani
Posted: Monday, April 13, 2009 11:05:12 AM
Rank: Member
Groups: Member

Joined: 4/12/2009
Posts: 12
Hi Laura,

I am using same splitter control in my Application. I dont have issue like that and this problem not belongs to build. if your code as per W3C standards this error wont be come. just check HTML designing. might be you splitter control in update panel and that update panel is not conditional. it should be conditional and splitter updates when it needs.
eo_support
Posted: Monday, April 13, 2009 12:25:02 PM
Rank: Administration
Groups: Administration

Joined: 5/27/2007
Posts: 24,194
Hi,

We have posted a new build that addressed this issue. Please see your private message for download location.

Thanks!


You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.